Grass Widow

“Fried Egg”

Eschewing songwriting hierarchy, dismissing apolitical gender readings, and blurring the musical distinctions that typify “form” and “content,” San Francisco-based trio Grass Widow definitely ain’t your typical all-female rock act. According to the band:

We want to thrive in our scene as musicians, with a focus on our musicianship first, not our gender. Our goal is to normalize the role of gender in our craft and have an avenue to express our intelligence and our love of music. We acknowledge that movements of the past created by or affecting women in the art and music worlds are hugely influential, but there is potential for the original sentiments to lose potency if the meaning is misinterpreted or not redesigned for a modern context. Even the riot grrl movement is kind of antiquated. You never really hear people talk about that ‘new riot grrl’ band. We owe a great deal to that lineage but it’s time for something new. We want to be portrayed as the responsible, thoughtful people that we are.

And thoughtful people they are: Grass Widow are playing Beijing’s Tanglewood Music Festival later this month before returning to the US for more dates throughout September. Their second full-length, Past Time, is out today on Kill Rock Stars, making this particular Chocolate Grinder post utterly relevant.

• Grass Widow:
• Kill Rock Stars:

Thee Oh Sees

“Meat Step Lively”

Thee Oh Sees’ Warm Slime (TMT Review) was released all over your face earlier this year. GROSS.

• Thee Oh Sees:
• In The Red:

Carl Broemel (My Morning Jacket)


Carl Broemel of My Morning Jacket is releasing his solo debut, All Birds Say, on August 31 via ATO. Earlier this year, he performed the new song “Questions” at the Lake Fever Sessions studios in Nashville, TN, so when you finally get a chance to hear the album, you should press pause before the track plays, boot up your computer, open a browser, head on over to this Chocolate Grinder post (or to MOG, who posted this exclusively), and stream this live version. Isn’t the internet convenient?

• Carl Broemel:
• ATO:

of Montreal

“Coquet Coquette”

of Montreal have just released a new video for “Coquet Coquette,” the first single from False Priest, which is due September 14 on Polyvinyl. Oh, and by the way, HOLY SHIT: a limited-to-500 tiny mix tape version will be available from Joyful Noise, too!!

• of Montreal:
• Polyvinyl:
• Joyful Noise:

Belle and Sebastian

“I Want The World To Stop” [preview]

Belle and the infamous Sebastian are releasing a new album, Write About Love, on October 12 via Matador. Here’s a little teaser for the album, which Matador reports is part of a “B&S TV show.” Hope it’s like Todd Solondz’ Storytelling. Remember the scene when Scooby’s getting a blow while “The State I Am In” is playing in the background? Ahh, youth.

• Belle and Sebastian:
• Matador:


  • Recent
  • Popular

CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.


Click here to apply