Tyler The Creator

“Yonkers”

The new vibe for rising stars in America. Goblin is out in April on Odd Future.

• Tyler The Creator: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Tyler-The-Creator/208977538477
• Odd Future Wolf Gang Kill Them All: http://oddfuture.tumblr.com/

The Stepkids

“Shadows on Behalf”

Stones Throw have signed The Stepkids. The group’s self-titled, reel-to-reel, futuristic electro-soul debut is due in the fall. It’s coming out on Stones Throw. Did I already mention that?

• The Stepkids: http://thestepkidsband.com
• Stones Throw: http://www.stonesthrow.com

[Photo: Chad Anderson]

PRISM Index

Mixed-Media Art Compilation

With print media on the decline, it’s always refreshing to actually hold new publications (that aren’t PEOPLE magazine). Columbus Ohio’s PRISM Index is an exuberant attempt to capture many facets of modern art in the form of a CD, DVD, and 80-page handmade book. This thing is pretty cool, featuring over 50 artists (some well known, others not) plodding through xeroxed pie recipes, “infomercial aesthetics,” and outsider watercolor art, among other things. Check out lots of content below. The visual art is by Luke Ramsey, Lisa Hanawalt, and Old Time Relijun’s Arrington de Dionyso, respectively.

-

-

According to the Index press release:

In an attempt to appease audiences’ wide tastes and hopefully expose them to new styles, artists, and ideas, the compilation features an eclectic mix of contributors and content. The main connection between these artists are their vehemently independent personalities and output, but with these seemingly disparate pieces PRISM index attempts to create a harmony with the art. Some of the highlights from the PRISM index #1 include: cult filmmaker Trent Harris on his friendship with seminal artist Bruce Connor, legendary underground filmmakers George and Mike Kuchar discussing UFO’s, illustrations from the recent “Ignatz Outstanding Comic” winner Lisa Hanawalt, inner turmoil and comedy of a troubled man through unsent suicide letters, vagabond lullabies, homosexuality’s connection with orange juice, an exotic zoology program, and a tale of gold diggers in shocking pink.

-

• PRISM Index: http://www.prismindex.com
• Index teaser: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZEO1vprw6tk

Mike Shiflet

“Gunpowder (for Raglani)”

Once you write for tinymixtapes, your mindset is inconceivably altered 4life. Case in point: former TMT staff writer Lars Gotrich, who has invaded NPR’s ranks on a secret mission to subvert American minds – starting with people who voted for John Kerry. Lars wrote this generous piece about drone artist Mike Shiflet, who has self released a giant slab of beautiful static called Llanos. Listen to my favorite track above and then head on over to Mike’s bandcamp to hear the rest.

• Mike Shiflet: http://mikeshiflet.bandcamp.com/album/llanos

Panda Bear

“Last Night at the Jetty”

Yeah, we already posted “Last Night at the Jetty” last year when it was released on 7-inch for FatCat, but this is the new and improved Sonic Boom-produced version!! Tomboy is due April 12 on Paw Tracks.

• Panda Bear: http://www.myspace.com/pandabear
• Paw Tracks: http://www.paw-tracks.com
• Sonic Boom: http://www.sonic-boom.info

CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.