Parts & Labor

“Life Prowler” [No Age cover]

According to a press release, “Parts & Labor took part in a recent fundraiser for The Voice Project organization which raises money to support the peace movement in Uganda.” It went on: “As part of the fundraiser Parts & Labor performed a cover of No Age’s ‘Life Prowler’ from their new album Everything in Between.” Check out the video above to see what this press release is talking about.

Meanwhile, “Jagjaguwar is proud to announce the forthcoming release of Constant Future, the fifth full-length album by Brooklyn’s Parts & Labor, available in the U.S. on March 8 and in the U.K. on March 7.” According to the press release, of course.

• The Voice Project:
• Parts & Labor:
• Jagjaguwar:

Chocolate Grinder Mix 43

“Opium Den Lifeguard”

This installment in the Chocolate Grinder mix tape series is basically a free-for-all. Some of these tracks will crowd your fragile eggshell mind, while others will keep your toes tapping long after side one of Led Zeppelin IV has hit the static loop in the middle. Being consistently trippy, surreal, satirical, and funky, “Opium Den Lifeguard” is like a soundtrack to an unreleased Quentin Tarantino, Danny Boyle, or Wes Anderson film. The Bambi Molesters could carry a Tarantino soundtrack all by themselves, and it’s only a matter of time until the righteous Croatian surf-rock outfit gets that chance.

01. The Morning Benders - “Promises” (Big Echo)
Start time: 0:00; Links: Rough Trade - The Morning Benders

02. The Bamboos - “Up On The Hill” (4)
Start time: 3:02; Links: Tru Thoughts - The Bamboos

03. The Bambi Molesters - “Lazy Girls Hangout” (As The Dark Wave Swells)
Start time: 8:26; Links: Glitterhouse - The Bambi Molesters

04. Zzouf - “You Not Been Drinkin’” (Zero dB’s One Offs, Remixes & B Sides)
Start time: 12:40; Links: Tru Thoughts - Zzouf

05. Andreya Triana - “Lost Where I Belong (Flying Lotus Remix)” (Lost Where I Belong 12”)
Start time: 16:34; Links: Ninja Tune - Andreya Triana

06. Curtis Plum - “Lil Wayne Tried To Rape Me” (Call My Cellphone)
Start time: 20:01; Links: Strange Famous - Curtis Plum

07. Roberto Carlos Lange - “So Men Te” (Library Catalog Music Series: Music For Memory)
Start time: 22:43; Links: Asthmatic Kitty - Roberto Carlos Lange

08. Four Tet - “Sing” (There Is Love In You)
Start time: 26:53; Links: Domino - Four Tet

09. Skeletons - “Guadelupe” (Smile)
Start time: 33:37; Links: Impossible Ark - Skeletons

10. Transient Songs - “In This Darkness Light Seeps Through” (Cave Syndrome)
Start time: 40:00; Links: Indian Casino - Transient Songs

[Artwork: Keith Kawaii]

M. Ward


As we reported in ye olde news section, a tribute album to Joanna Newsom is being released today to benefit Oxfam America. It’s called Versions of Joanna. M. Ward’s “Sadie” is featured on the album, as well as covers by Billy Bragg, Owen Pallett, and Ben Sollee. Unless you hate Oxfam America, you should consider buying this compilation.

• Versions of Joanna:
• Oxfam America:

Flying Lotus

“Zodiac Shit”

“Zodiac Shit.” Cosmogramma (TMT Review). Flying Lotus. Adult Swim. Chocolate Grinder. Tiny Mix Tapes Gone to Heaven.

• Flying Lotus:
• Warp:

Godspeed You! Black Emperor

“Storm” (live at ATP’s Nightmare Before Christmas)

Godspeed You! Black Emperor played three presumably awesome sets at ATP’s Nightmare Before Christmas in Minehead, England. Consequence of Sound found some clips on YouTube, so if you’ve never experienced GY!BE live before, ruin it now with these grainy vids.

• ATP:

CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.