Mates of State

“True Love Will Find You in the End” [Daniel Johnston cover]

A couple months ago, we alerted you to Mates of States’ new covers album, Crushes, which glaringly has no Burning Star Core cover. (Come to think of it: where’s the Prurient cover?) What it does have, however, is a cover of Daniel Johnston’s “True Love Will Find You in the End,” off his 1990 album. It serves as the final track, so if you want to hear how the album ends, clicky clicky.

• Mates of State:
• Twitter:
• Facebook:
• MySpace:
• The Smashing Pumpkins:

The Roots

“Dear God 2.0” [feat. Jim James]

The Roots will release How I Got Over on June 22. You care because it features Joanna Newsom and members of Dirty Projectors. You don’t care because it also features John Legend and Blu. Which makes you racist.

• The Roots:

Elk City

“Nine O’Clock In France”

Yesterday, Elk City released House of Tongues on Friendly Fire. Today, you’re listening to “Nine O’Clock In France” via the Chocolate Grinder. Tomorrow, you’ll pluck your unibrow so as not to look like a fucking prick. And on Friday, you’ll be making your way to the Bell House in New York to catch Elk City’s CD release show. Isn’t it crazy how you’ll do anything the Chocolate Grinder tells you to do?

• Elk City:
• Friendly Fire:

Coyote Clean Up

“Pollution Shampoo”

Deathbomb Arc has dropped (not literally) a compilation album of “pop-punk, cute lofi ballads, chillwave, and all around happiness.” It’s called 2010 CE, and you can order it here. FUCK YES.

• Coyote Clean Up:
• Deathbomb Arc:

David Karsten Daniels & Fight The Big Bull

“The Funeral Bell”

David Karsten Daniels forthcoming album, I Mean To Live Here Still, is due sometime in the summer via FatCat. It’s a collaboration with “avant nine piece” Fight The Big Bull, which means: the Chocolate Grinder is interested, bitch!

• David Karsten Daniels:
• FatCat:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.