K Records

Sophisticated Boom Boom [SXSW Mixtape]

K Records is doing a SXSW showcase March 17 with Tomlab, Asthmatic Kitty, and Sounds Familyre at The Beauty Bar. In celebration, K has made a special SXSW tiny mix tape titled after the showcase, Sophisticated Boom Boom. Check it out here:


• K Records: http://www.krecs.com
• Tomlab: http://www.tomlab.com
• Asthmatic Kitty: http://asthmatickitty.com
• Sounds Familyre: http://www.soundsfamilyre.com


“Hidden Lakes”

The Golden Archipelago is due next Tuesday on Matador.

• Shearwater: http://shearwatermusic.com
• Matador: http://www.matadorrecords.com

Kayo Dot

“Whisper Ineffable”

Kayo Dot’s Coyote is due April 6th on — who else? — Hydra Head.

• Kayo Dot: http://www.kayodot.net
• Hydra Head: http://www.hydrahead.com

Mos Def

“Accordion” [Madvillain cover]

Mos Def covered Madvillain at a recent gig with DOOM (or at least the person who performs as DOOM). About time for a new Madvillain, eh? [via Nah Right]

• Mos Def: http://www.myspace.com/mosdef
• DOOM: http://www.myspace.com/mfdoom

Mount Eerie

“Ancient Questions” [Daytrotter]

Wind’s Poem was released last year by Phil Elverum’s own P.W. Elverum & Sun.

• P.W. Elverum & Sun: http://www.pwelverumandsun.com
• Daytrotter: http://www.daytrotter.com


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.