Belle and Sebastian

Webisode: “I Want the World to Stop” and “I Didn’t See It Coming” / “Write About Love”

Click here and you’ll find Belle and Sebastian’s first official webisode to promote their forthcoming album, Write About Love. (Didn’t want to embed such a high-quality video in this dinky little area.) It includes performances of “I Want the World to Stop” and “I Didn’t See It Coming,” two of my three favorite songs off the album because I’ve only heard three songs off the album. The title track is the third, and it’s available above or as a download below if you sign up for Belle and Sebastian’s mailing list. Write About Love is due October 12 on Matador

• Belle and Sebastian:
• Matador:


“I’m Aware”

Clinic will release Bubblegum, their sixth album, on October 5 through Domino. Now you are “aware.” HAHAHAHAHHAHA!!!

• Clinic:
• Domino:

Chocolate Grinder Mix 37

“In Deep & Ant Mew Sick”

Electronic music may be my first love, but that doesn’t mean I don’t appreciate the rich variety and engrossing lyricism rock has to offer. From Oy’s tale of overcoming fears to take a wizz in the middle of the night and The Fugitives’ detailed investigation of their apartment building society to Woodpigeon’s heart-wrenching survival of a broken relationship and a selection from Anaïs Mitchell’s engrossing acoustic rock opera, “In Deep & Ant Mew Sick” is as much a collection of short stories as it is a mix tape. This mix is just as interesting musically as it is lyrically, though, featuring everything from toe-tapping, banjo-driven folk to offbeat, psychedelic synth pop.

01. Chet - “Saint Jerome, My Baby Tames Lions” (Chelsea Silver, Please Come Home)
Start time: 0:00; Links: Absolutely Kosher - Chet

02. Woodpigeon - “Such A Lucky Girl” (Die Stadt Muzikanten)
Start time: 3:49; Links: Boompa - Woodpigeon

03. Gigi - “The Hundredth Time feat. Duffy Driediger & Ryan Peters” (Maintenant)
Start time: 10:44; Links: Tomlab - Gigi

04. The Fugitives - “Snail Shell” (Eccentrically We Love)
Start time: 14:15; Links: 604 - The Fugitives

05. Anaïs Mitchell - “Flowers (Eurydice’s Song)” (Hadestown)
Start time: 17:56; Links: Righteous Babe - Anaïs Mitchell

06. Old Man Luedecke - “Foreign Tongue” (My Hands Are On Fire and Other Love Songs)
Start time: 21:26; Links: Black Hen - Old Man Luedecke

07. Oh No Ono - “Swim” (Eggs)
Start time: 24:30; Links: Friendly Fire - Oh No Ono

08. Oy - “Snake” (First Box Then Walk)
Start time: 29:05; Links: Creaked - Oy

09. Rafter - “No Fucking Around” (Animal Feelings)
Start time: 32:16; Links: Asthmatic Kitty - Rafter

10. Birds & Batteries - “The Villain” (Up To No Good)
Start time: 35:30; Links: Eightmaps - Birds & Batteries

[Artwork: Keith Kawaii]

Blue Water White Death

“Song for the Greater Jihad”

Blue Water White Death, featuring Xiu Xiu’s Jamie Stewart and Shearwater’s Jonathan Meiburg, are debuting their self-titled album on October 12 via Graveface. The extremely short bit of “noise” during “Song for the Greater Jihad’s” interlude (around 3:15) gets two thumbs up from the Chocolate Grinder. LOVE IT.

• Blue Water White Death:
• Graveface:

The War on Drugs

“Comin’ Through”

Future Weather, the new mini-LP by The War on Drugs, is due October 26 via Secretly Canadian. Read Nobodaddy’s news story for some drugged-out fun.

• The War on Drugs:
• Secretly Canadian:

CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.