Broken Social Scene cuddle together for warmth during winter tour

Broken Social Scene cuddle together for warmth during winter tour

Since Broken Social Scene are Canadian, one might think they’re immune to the harsh temperatures that winter brings. Not true. In fact, the members of BSS are still human (I know, right?) and are just as susceptible as you and I when the temperature drops into the negatives. To survive their upcoming Forgiveness Rock Record (TMT Review) US tour in February, BSS have decided to form a cuddle pile before they go on stage each night, to keep each other warm and to maintain positive group morale. Sounds like a good idea to me, although Brendan Canning’s bony white arms don’t exactly scream “nurturing warmth” to me.

Broken Cuddle Scene:

01.16.11 - London, ON - The Music Hall
01.29.11 - Edmonton, AB - Freezing Man Festival
01.18.11 - New York, NY - Terminal 5
02.10.11 - Atlanta, GA - Buckhead Theatre
02.11.11 - Tampa, FL - Ritz
02.12.11 - Ft. Lauderdale, FL - Revolution Hall
02.13.11 - Orlando, FL - Firestone Live
02.15.11 - New Orleans, LA - Tipitina’s
02.17.11 - Houston, TX - Warehouse Live
02.18.11 - Austin, TX - La Zona Rosa
02.19.11 - Dallas, TX - House of Blues
02.20.11 - Tulsa, OK - Cain’s Ballroom

• Broken Social Scene:
• Arts & Crafts:

Kurt Vile, incredibly productive songwriter, preps Smoke Ring For My Halo for March

Singer-songwriter/all-around busy body Kurt Vile has announced plans to release Smoke Ring For My Halo, his second LP for Matador, on March 8. The album was recorded by fellow non-procrastinator John Agnello (Dinosaur Jr., The Hold Steady, Sonic Youth) and looks to reaffirm Vile’s steadily building reputation as one of the brighter stars on Matador’s roster. “In My Time,” the album’s first single, was released as a limited-edition 7-inch in November, and you can check it out at the Chocolate Grinder.

Vile recently wrapped up a five-week tour with The Violators and was a special guest on WFMU’s The Best Show On WFMU with Tom Scharpling on December 22. Enjoy all three-plus glorious hours right over here, if you’re into that sort of thing.

Smoke Ring For My Halo tracklist:

01. Baby’s Arms
02. Jesus Fever
03. Puppet To The Man
04. On Tour
05. Society Is My Friend
06. Runner Ups
07. In My Time
08. Peeping Tomboy
09. Smoke Ring For My Halo
10. Ghost Town

• Kurt Vile:
• Matador:

OvO sign to Supernatural Cat, plan to release another jarring, abrasive album in the spring

The experimental band OvO is one thus far best summed up by lists: who they’ve toured and played with (Thurston Moore, Lightning Bolt, Jim O’Rourke, Larsen, A Hawk Is a Hacksaw, USAISAMONSTER, Kill Me Tomorrow…); what labels have released their albums (Load, Bar La Muerta, Blossoming Noise); what they can’t be strictly categorized as (according to Supernatural Cat Records, not noise, metal, doom, punk, rock ‘n’ roll, free, avant, or improv).

Italian label Supernatural Cat would know, too; SC just signed OvO and have announced a spring 2011 release of the duo’s new album, Cor Cordium. While it’s true that it’s not easy to pigeonhole OvO into one category (besides loud), it’s certainly music for your darker, goth side and would make an uncomfortable soundtrack for your 2011.

• OvO:
• Supernatural Cat:

The Mountain Goats celebrate 2011 by announcing their millionth new album, All Eternals Deck

The Mountain Goats have announced the upcoming release of their new album and Merge Records debut, All Eternals Deck, due March 29. This time around, John Darnielle and co. teamed up with several producers, including John Congleton in North Carolina, Brandon Eggleston in Boston, Scott Solter in Brooklyn, and Erik Rutan in Florida. And yes, Rutan is the former guitarist for metal band Morbid Angel and current guitarist for Hate Eternal. Makes sense, though; we know how much Darnielle loves his metal.

All Eternals Deck tracklisting:

01. Damn These Vampires
02. Birth of Serpents
03. Estate Sale Sign
04. Age of Kings
05. The Autopsy Garland
06. Beautiful Gas Mask
07. High Hawk Season
08. Prowl Great Cain
09. Sourdoire Valley Song
10. Outer Scorpion Squadron
11. For Charles Bronson
12. Never Quite Free
13. Liza Forever Minnelli

• The Mountain Goats:
• Merge:

Beck Producing New Thurston Moore Solo Album. What?????

In a time when a collaboration between Kanye West and Bon Iver isn’t all that strange, it should come as no surprise that Beck will be bringing production touches to Thurston Moore’s new solo album.

According to an interview over at The Philadelphia Weekly (conducted by fellow TMTer Elliott Sharp), Moore revealed that his new solo album will be titled Benediction and that it was recorded entirely at Beck’s studio down in Southern California. The album features violinist Samara Lubelski and harpist Mary Lattimore contributing extensively, along with homeboy Beck providing a little bit of vocal and instrumental assistance. Moore also claimed that the album will be released by current Sonic Youth album-releaser Matador. No word yet on a release date.

In a coinciding article with Mary Lattimore over at the Philly, the harpist says that they all crashed at Beastie Boy Mike D’s crib in Malibu while recording Benediction. Hah, celebrities…

• Thurston Moore:
• Matador:

Tim Heidecker (of Tim & Eric Awesome Show, Great Job!) is releasing an album for shits; meanwhile, no one will release yours! What a world!

As a wise man once said: some guys get all the breaks. Tim Heidecker (co-creator of Tim and Eric Awesome Show, Great Job!) seems to be one of those guys. I mean, come on now. Is there a single one of you reading this who doesn’t think you could pack a few bowls in the attic, sit on the couch with a flip cam, and do what that guy does for a living just as successfully?? Exactly. Me too. Thing is, Tim beat us to it. So now he’s funny and authoritative, and we’re not. And damned if he isn’t reaping the benefits of having a paid outlet for his antics.

Case in point: he and Davin Wood (Tim and Eric’s resident music guy) are, just for the schmaltzy comedy fun of it, releasing an LP together. Entitled Starting From Nowhere, this newest venture comes out on March 15 via Little Record Company and consists of a dozen songs written at Tim and Davin’s home studios over the past couple of years that, for one reason or another, weren’t quite right for their hit TV show. See? Home studios? Hit TV shows? This guy is killing me!

What will the record sound like, you ask? What else? A mix of 70s soft rock (Eagles, Billy Joel, Doobie Brothers), singer-songwriters (Jackson Browne, Seals and Croft), and epically cheesy studio rock groups (Steely Dan, Queen). According to the whiz-bang press release, the combination of Heidecker’s “strange mix of dry humor and sincerity with Wood’s spot-on ability to create authentically nostalgic sounding tracks” creates some truly epic shower jams. Whatever. We’ll see what Harry Nilsson has to say about THAT, Tim.

Starting From Nowhere tracklisting:

01. Cross Country Skiing
02. Right or Wrong
03. Grandest Canyon
04. Wedding Song
05. Desert Island
06. Life on the Road
07. Weatherman
08. A Song for My Father
09. Right to the Minute
10. She Left You
11. Million People
12. Christmas Suite (bonus track)

• Tim & Eric:
• Little Record Company: