Chief Keef readies new mixtape Almighty So, following up his last mixtape, which followed up the mixtape before that

Chief Keef readies new mixtape Almighty So, following up his last mixtape, which followed up the mixtape before that

He may not be capable of handling his liquor, but Chief Keef can sure as hell stay busy. Within the last year, the controversial drill-hop artist has: been in and out legal trouble countless times (including suspicion of murder); authored innumerable threatening tweets (most notably a very public feud with Katy Perry); signed to a major label (Interscope); started his own record label (Glory Boyz Entertainment); released his major label debut (Finally Rich); collaborated with Kanye West on Yeezus; subsequently dissed Yeezus; signed to Gucci Mane’s record label 1017 Brick Squad Records; and most recently, on the day of his birthday, released the new mixtape Bang Pt. 2.

Well, add one more notch to the bedpost, because Keef has announced (via Twitter) the September 12 release date of a new newer mixtape: Almighty So. Since mixtape release dates are about as reliable as Chief Keef baking you a cake, I wouldn’t put too much stock in this, but what the hell do I know.

Get a taste for Almighty So with the leaked single “Round Da Rosey” below:

• Chief Keef:
• Interscope:

Rene Hell announces new crowd-clearing album entitled Vanilla Call Option on PAN

If the name Rene Hell doesn’t jangle a brain bell, well, that’s probably because the aforementioned moniker of Jeff Witscher is secretly an allusion to his proximal upbringing with Beelzebub; supposedly outbound publicity is a hard thing to come by when the stairs are made of fire and email is only accessible following a forced reading of 30 articles documenting various celebrity “baby bumps.” That’s my personal vision of hell, anyway.

Less of an exaggeration: Witscher has had a leg in the underground (though not quite that “under”) for at least a few years now, so patrons of a particular abstract electronic scene will know him better than most, even if Porcelain Opera and The Terminal Symphony both justifiably served to enlarge his following a bit. Likewise, a recent split LP with Oneohtrix Point Never offered some unnecessary credence courtesy of affiliation, so certainly, proclamations of Hell’s newest LP Vanilla Call Option being his most “refined to date” don’t strike one as surprising or inappropriate. This is an artist on the incline.

A surface familiarity with Witscher’s work as Rene Hell is enough to suggest a disinclination toward being straightforward, and you can expect something similar with his newest album, which is due September 15 on PAN. Go ahead and presume a classical influence as well, because nothing says musical classicism like… esoteric financial terms? No idea, but travel is reportedly a central theme here. Maybe wandering stock brokers are deserving of a musical tribute…

Vanilla Call Option tracklisting:

01. 1
02. 2
03. 3
04. 4
05. 5.2
06. 6
07. 7
08. 8
09. 9&10
10. 11
11. 12

• Rene Hell:
• PAN:

VIA Festival 2013 continues tradition of warming TMT’s collective heart: Actress, Aaron Dilloway, Pharmakon, Raime, and more

If human beings were capable of literally birthing abstractions, you might say that TMT and the VIA Festival in Pittsburgh both slithered out in short, sequential order on the same succulent river of amniotic fluid from the same mother. Which isn’t to say that coordination exists between the two; the lineup for this year’s (not to mention last year’s) VIA just happens to read like our own journalistic to-splooge list, which may or may not exist, but is otherwise my way of saying… the artists whose music we’ve thoroughly enjoyed recently, or expect to enjoy in the near future, anticipating future releases. October 1-6 will coincide with the festival’s fourth edition, and from my 2500-mile vantage point, it appears as though VIA is steadfastly earning itself a reputation.

Though the festival prides itself on giving due attention to the visual aspect of things, here are a few of the musicians slated to perform for 2013: Raime, Aaron Dilloway, Unicorn Hard-On, John Elliott (of Emeralds/Outer Space and Spectrum Spools), Slava, Pharmakon, and Chief Keef. And then there’s Actress, whose Visa issues from around the same time last year look to have been overcome, much to the dismay of North American thespians. You may be an actress, but he’s the Actress. And so forth.

Not much else to add at the moment. I’d obviously go.

• VIA:

Danny Brown’s OLD confirmed for 9/30; threatens to leak it on 9/28 if it’s not released 9/29

Threats will get you everywhere. We all know that. And perhaps that’s why Danny Brown, the Adderall Admiral, recently threatened to leak his own album OLD, the long-awaited follow-up to 2011’s excellent XXX, because now label Fool’s Gold has finally confirmed a release date of September 30, according to Consequence of Sound.

We’ve had plenty of Danny Brown in the meantime, though, as he collaborates a shit-ton (including this odd one with Insane Clown Posse) and has been keeping us on our toes with blunt after blunt after blunt after blunt after blunt. Still, OLD is long overdue, a fact that’s underscored by this recent hour-long documentary on OLD, the footage of which was shot way back in 2009:

Dates with Action Bronson:

09.10.13 - Calgary, AB - Republik
09.11.13 - Edmonton, AB - Union Hall
09.12.13 - Vancouver, BC - Vogue Theatre
09.17.13 - Denver, CO - Ogden Theatre
09.20.13 - Milwaukee, WI - The Rave II
09.22.13 - Minneapolis, MN - First Avenue
09.24.13 - Bloomington, IN - Bluebird Nightclub
09.25.13 - Grand Rapids, MI - The Intersection
09.27.13 - Philadelphia, PA - Theatre of the Living Arts
10.01.13 - Toronto, ON - The Danforth Music Hall
10.02.13 - Montreal, QC - Telus Theatre
10.03.13 - Boston, MA - Wilbur Theatre

• Danny Brown:

Eminem announces new LP at MTV VMAs; TMT readers hear about it this way


I guess Eminem was probably talking at the 2013 MTV Video Music Awards ceremony last night and he used the opportunity to announce the release of a new album (and/or a new album-length commercial for Beats Audio) that is coming out November 5.

It follows up 2010’s Recovery (TMT Review) and seems to be called MMLPII, which would sorta make it a loose sequel to 2000’s The Marshall Mathers LP.


According to Nahright, it was “executive produced by Dr. Dre and Rick Rubin.” And according to Eminem’s website, the first single from the album is called “Berzerk” and is “coming Tuesday.” Then, next to that, there’s some middle fingers.

So, fuck you.

(Here’s some clips of the single, though. And by “clips of the single,” I mean “commercials for those Beats headphones that Dr. Dre sells.)

• Eminem:

RIP: Joey LaCaze of Eyehategod

From Invisible Oranges (via BrooklynVegan):

We are very sad to report that Joey LaCaze, drummer of Eyehategod, has passed away. Though details are sketchy at this point, we’ve received confirmation from a very credible source that he has in fact passed. The band recently completed a tour of Europe and was gearing up for a string of dates in celebration of their 25th anniversary.

• Eyehategod: