Deathbomb Arc Digital Singles Club starts in September with Foot Village, U.S. Girls, Modern Witch

Deathbomb Arc Digital Singles Club starts in September with Foot Village, U.S. Girls, Modern Witch

They always come back to digital. Or at least that’s how it seems. There was the Deathbomb Arc Tape Club, whose subscribers (limited to an extremely slim 100 per year) received cassette tapes per month with contributions from folks like Hawnay Troof, Lucky Dragons, and A++. “Cassettes are the new vinyl,” they said. Perhaps because it’s proven too hard to find good tape decks in the new rush for cassettes these days, this year Deathbomb is beginning its Deathbomb Digital Singles Club — no cheap plastic allowed.

Exclusivity is everything when coolness is involved (or making a living), so free download sites like RCRD LBL just won’t do anymore. K Records had the right idea when earlier this summer they made their time-honored singles club go digital. In similar fashion, subscribers to the Deathbomb Digital Singles Club will have two unreleased tracks at their disposal each week via clandestine links and passwords, with art by Modern Witch’s Mario Zoots. “But cassettes sound better!” you whine. Well, get off Facebook and go back to your analog, then. These tracks will be in both MP3 and hi-res quality, so no complaining about fidelity.

Subscriptions are only $10, the price of a new CD (depending) with a paltry 12 tracks (generally). It runs until September 2011 — that’s 104 songs for subscribers, plus bonus releases from time to time, and the guarantee of being cool.

Confirmed bands for the series:

Baby Birds Don’t Drink Milk, Back to the Future the Ride, Batwings Catwings, BITCHES, Blackbird Blackbird, Blissed Out, Captain Ahab, Ear Pwr, Endless Endless Endless, Ghost Animal, Girls in the Eighties, Haunted Horses, IE, Jason Forrest, Juiceboxxx/Foot Village collaboration, Kevin Greenspon, Kiss Kiss Fantastic, Mickey Mickey Rourke, Modern Witch, Pariah Carey, Railcars, Rale, Saivus, Sickboy, Sister Fucker (members of Child Pornography, ex-Coughs), Teeth, Turbine, tik///tik, The Urxed (member of High Places), U.S. Girls, VNV.

Go here to set up your subscription and listen to an audio sample of a Ghost Animal contribution.

• Deathbomb Arc:

RIP: Abbey Lincoln, jazz singer

From Spinner:

Jazz singer, songwriter and actress Abbey Lincoln passed away on Aug. 14 in New York City, filmmaker and friend Carol Friedman – who’s working on a documentary on Lincoln — told the media. The 80-year-old died of natural causes.

“There are gorgeous women, there are spirited women, there are genius women — Abbey Lincoln was all of that,” Friedman told Billboard. “You don’t find an artist that embodies this kind of level of physical beauty and cerebral magnificence in one package.”

• Abbey Lincoln:

John Darnielle signs to Merge as The Mountain Goats and The Extra Lens; celebrates with grits, tobacco, and other stereotypes from NC

Shocking news in the music industry: The Mountain Goats switch from 4AD to Merge Records for the follow-up to last year’s The Life of the World to Come (TMT Review) and beyond, officially making John Darnielle the most inoffensive yet sexy figure in music today. Merge also signed Darnielle’s other project, The Extra Lens, who have plans to release their album Undercard October 19, keeping everything under one North Carolinian roof. (Pitchfork helpfully points out that Darnielle and Merge both call Chapel Hill home, while MG drummer Jon Wurster also plays for Superchunk, a band nearly synonymous with “Chapel Hill indie” and comprised of Merge founders, yadda, yadda, yadda — and the circle of life continues).

The Extra Lens are not quite as NC-centric as it may seem, however. John Darnielle and Franklin Bruno initiated the group in the Inland Empire and recorded Undercard in both Carrboro, NC, and Brooklyn. While Darnielle and Bruno purportedly contribute equally to the project, based on this free track from the new album, they, uh… sound pretty much like The Mountain Goats. Still, Darnielle’s voice and Franklin’s arrangements sound decent, if not different — what more can you ask for?

Undercard tracklisting:

01. Adultery
02. Crusierweights
03. Only Existing Footage
04. Communicating Doors
05. Programmed Cell Death
06. How I Left the Ministry
07. Some Other Way
08. Ambivalent Landscape Z
09. In Germany Before the War
10. Tug on the Line
11. Rockin’ Rockin’ Twilight of the Gods
12. Dogs of Clinic 17

• The Mountain Goats:
• Merge:

[Photo: Meg Zimbeck]

Arcade Fire announce more North American dates this fall

Did you really think Arcade Fire was going to skip St. Paul or Mexico? If so, you can put your worries to rest. Arcade Fire have just announced additional North American tourdates for September and October (as we announced via Twitter during our break), which includes stops in Canada and Mexico. These tickets will be “on sale soon” according to Arcade Fire’s website. For other upcoming dates and ticketing information click here.

Extended tourdates:

09.22.10 - St. Paul, MN - Roy Wilkins Arena
09.23.10 - Winnipeg, MB - MTS Centre
09.25.10 - Saskatoon, SK - Credit Union Centre
09.26.10 - Calgary, AB - Stampede Corral
09.28.10 - Vancouver, BC - Pacific Coliseum
09.29.10 - Seattle, WA - Key Arena
09.30.10 - Portland, OR - Memorial Coliseum
10.02.10 - Berkeley, CA - Greek Theatre
10.05.10 - Big Sur, CA - Henry Miller Library
10.07.10 - Los Angeles, CA - Shrine Auditorium
10.08.10 - Los Angeles, CA - Shrine Auditorium
10.10.10 - Mexico City, MX - Palacio de los Deportes
10.12.10 - Monterrey, MX - Banamex Theater

• Arcade Fire:

RIP: Robert Wilson of The Gap Band

From Tulsa World (via The Daily Swarm):

The “Godfather of Bass Guitar,” Robert Wilson of the legendary Tulsa R&B and funk group the GAP Band, died Sunday in Los Angeles. He was 53, confirmed his publicist and manager, Don Jackson, in a late-night Sunday phone call to the Tulsa World.

Wilson died from a massive heart attack in his home, Jackson said. His family became concerned about him when they didn’t receive their regular phone calls, and his adult son found his body on Sunday afternoon in Palmdale, Calif.

• Robert Wilson:
• The Gap Band:

Funnyman Phil Elverum shows that he’s still “got it” with Mount Eerie’s Song Islands Vol. 2!

The people have spoken: Phil Elverum is America’s greatest funnyman! After being separately named “Comedian of the Year” by Chicago’s Yuk Hut and Fort Wayne’s Snickerz, it should be clear that Phil Elverum is the funniest man in the country. Of course, us true believers, the ones who got into him through his classic stand-up album The Glow Pt. II (#5 on our decade list, by the way) and last year’s hilarious Mount Eerie record Wind’s Poem (TMT Review), we’ve known this for some time. So, in appreciation of us Elverum diehards, the man is collecting some of his funniest rare material as Mount Eerie for a new collection called Song Islands Vol. 2. The record is out digitally via eMusic right now and will be out on LP (which I believe stands for “laughter producer”) on October 21 through P.W. Elverum & Sun, ltd.

For the record, my favorite Elverum bit is the one where a wall of distorted noise gives way to a delicate guitar and his hushed voice. Hilarious!

Song Islands Vol. 2 tracklist:

01. Where?
02. Calf in Pasture
03. The Intimacy
04. I Whale
05. O My Heart
06. Instrumental
07. Where Is My Tarp?
08. Don’t Smoke
09. Get Off the Internet
10. Cooking
11. Give Totally Up
12. Do Not Be Afraid
13. Voice in Headphones (singers)
14. Cold Mountain
15. Cold Mountain’s Song #286
16. Heart Lake at Night
17. You Turn Me On
18. A Sentimental Song
19. Mystery Language
20. Waterfalls
21. This Is the Same Ocean
22. In the Rain
23. In Moonlight
24. Thanksgiving
25. Instrumental
26. Uncertainty
27. Limp Climbing
28. Grave Robbers
29. Lost Wisdom
30. (Wind Lyrics)
31. Small House

• P.W. Elverum & Sun, Ltd.: