If By Yes (Petra Haden & Yuka Honda) recruit David Byrne, Cornelius, Sean Lennon, the Pope, the Space Pope for debut LP

If By Yes (Petra Haden & Yuka Honda) recruit David Byrne, Cornelius, Sean Lennon, the Pope, the Space Pope for debut LP http://www.tinymixtapes.com/sites/default/files/news-11-02-if-by-yes.jpg

If By Yes, the new project of Petra Haden (That Dog) and Yuka Honda (Cibo Matto), is a band with a ridiculously full Rolodex (just kidding, nobody uses Rolodexes anymore!). Among others, the Petra Haden part of the band has spent time working with The Decemberists, The Rentals, Beck, Sunn O))), and Queens of the Stone Age, while the Yuka Honda part has collaborated with Mike Watt, Beastie Boys, Los Lobos, and Tricky. Seriously, these are two ladies who know people. So it’s not particularly surprising that Salt on Sea Glass, their debut album out March 11 via Chimera, boasts some pretty high-profile guests. David Byrne and Honda’s former Cibo Matto bandmate Sean Lennon are the biggest names dropping in on the record, but other notable folks like Cornelius, Nels Cline, and Thomas Bartlett (a.k.a. Doveman) make an appearance or two. There are also rumors of the Pope, the ghost of Johnny Cash, a real-life panda, Burt Reynolds, Troy Aikman, and Batman villain The Joker showing up on the album, but, hey, you didn’t hear that from me.

Salt on Sea Glass tracklist:

01. You Feel Right
02. Eliza
03. Three as Four
04. Imagino
05. Still Breathing
06. In My Dreams
07. Shadow Blind
08. You’re Something Else
09. Out of View
10. Lightning In Your Eyes
11. Adrift
12. Night and Day

• If By Yes: http://www.myspace.com/ifbyyesmusic
• Chimera: http://chimeramusic.com

Radiohead decide to release The King of Limbs today instead of tomorrow, change how we think about music forevermore

When Radiohead released In Rainbows, the band flipped the industry on its head with its ‘revolutionary’ pay-what-you-want release method, and now Radiohead have done it again! Earlier this week, Radiohead announced the release of The King of Limbs, a new album that would be available this Saturday (TMT News). But of course, that wasn’t ‘revolutionary’ enough, so Radiohead have decided to scrap that release date last-minute and release the digital version TODAY, available to all pre-orderers here.

Could this become a new template for the industry? Will bands start announcing release dates only to change them last minute? Should we expect albums to come out a day early from now on? Probably! Check out the video for “Lotus Flower” over at the Chocolate Grinder and enjoy the album courtesy of Tiny Mix Tapes and the guy from the State Farm insurance commercials.

• Radiohead: http://www.radiohead.com

[Photo: Sebastian Edge]

Guitar Wolf announce US dates; don’t get too excited, there’s only two of them

Yow! Guitar Wolf are so crazy and cool and Japanese that they can make ridiculous things look awesome. Like lightning bolt guitar straps. Or weird Tarantino-esque promo shots. Or even wifebeater tanktops. Be sure to check out their raucous live show if you find yourself in Japan this spring. Or in Brooklyn. Or Chicago.

US dates:

04.13.11 - Brooklyn, NY - Knitting Factory
04.19.11 - Chicago, IL - Bottom Lounge

Japan dates:

03.17.11 - Nagoya, Japan - Club Quatrro
03.18.11 - Shinsaibashi, Japan - Sun Hall
03.27.11 - Niigata, Japan - Club Riverst
04.07.11 - Sendai, Japan - MA.CA.NA
04.10.11 - Fukuoka, Japan - Live House CB
04.17.11 - Sapporo, Japan - Bessie Hall
04.24.11 - Ebisu, Japan - Liquidroom

• Guitar Wolf: http://www.guitarwolf.net

Jim “Ol’ Reliable” O’Rourke slings out another collab (with Merzbow and Mats Gustafsson) for Editions Mego

Regardless of his intentions when making the migration from the states to Japan a few years back (apparently to learn the art of filmmaking) Jim O’Rourke just can’t seem to keep his little musical fingers still. Just in the past year the man has released collaborations with Oren Ambarchi & Keiji Haino, Lee Ranaldo & Christoph Heemann, and The Thing, and he’s got another collaboration with Heemann coming out this Tuesday called Plastic Palace People Vol. 1. As evidenced, O’Rourke possesses all the qualities of a childhood pet — he’s loyal, consistent, lovable, and plays well with others. Apologies if you didn’t have a childhood and can’t relate.

But those weren’t enough! Clear the “recent arrivals” bin, record store folks, because One Bird Two Bird will be released on March 11 via the always excellent, increasingly popular Editions Mego label. The disc features a 2009 Tokyo studio session between Masami Akita (a.k.a. Merzbow), Mats Gustafsson, and O’Rourke. If you’re not familiar with these dudes, I’m gonna go ahead and tell you to expect somethin’ brutal, cause that’s exactly what it’s gonna be.

• Jim O’Rourke: http://tisue.net/orourke
• Editions Mego: http://www.editionsmego.com

Alela Diane now computer-literate enough to announce news of a third LP

Back in the early 2000s, when the terms freak folk, anti-folk, and psych folk actually kind of signified something, Alela Diane emerged from Nevada City with a friend like Joanna Newsom and a voice like a toned-down Diane Cluck singing Townes Van Zandt (evidenced most brazenly by the first track on her Myspace). Last June, we mused about her technological deficiencies, but we also hinted at a 2011 album. As will happen with the passage of time, the year is now 2011 and we have confirmation of said album, entitled Alela Diane & Wild Divine.

A real family affair, Diane’s third studio endeavor consists of herself (naturally, the “Alela Diane” half), plus her husband and father, both guitarists named Tom, and friends Jonas and Jason on bass and drums, respectively (together, Wild Divine). To sweeten the deal, Scott Litt (ahem — R.E.M. and Nirvana) produced the whole thing. Alela Diane & Wild Divine is out April 5 from Rough Trade. Just to assuage your fears about the craziness of this album, no animals were harmed during the production of this album.

• Alela Diane: http://www.aleladiane.com
• Rough Trade: http://www.roughtraderecords.com

Oh hai guyz, our bad! US government shuts down 84,000 websites “by mistake”

In accordance with “Operation Save Our Children,” ICE’s Cyber Crimes Center seized thousands of domain names last week that they thought were questionable. “Thought” being the operative word here. Last Friday, thousands of site owners were surprised to find the following banner in place of their sites:

Advertisement, distribution, transportation, receipt, and possession of child pornography constitute federal crimes that carry penalties for first time offenders of up to 30 years in federal prison, a $250,000 fine, forfeiture and restitution.

Pretty intense! Unfortunately, ICE didn’t pay close enough attention when they convinced a district court judge to sign a seizure warrant that prompted the domains in question to show the warning message instead of their usual content. Somewhere along the way, the domain mooo.com — which belongs to FreeDNS, a large DNS service provider — was seized and 84,000 subdomains were wrongfully seized as well. The owner of FreeDNS commented on the situation: “Freedns.afraid.org has never allowed this type of abuse of its DNS service. We are working to get the issue sorted as quickly as possible.” Several days after the seizure, the non-offending sites were reverted from the warning banners back to their old content. Hmm. Hey Department of Homeland Security, maybe double-check yourself the next time you try to flip the “off” switch on the internet, okay?