Jeff Mangum changes everything with surprise performance in Brooklyn, and we’ve got EXCLUSIVE photos!

Jeff Mangum changes everything with surprise performance in Brooklyn, and we've got EXCLUSIVE photos!

On Saturday, Jeff Mangum of Neutral Milk Hotel (a.k.a. The Greatest Musician In The World) descended from the heavens to bestow upon an earthly Brooklyn/Schoolhouse crowd of under 100 what may very well go down as The Greatest Show of All Time. With a set that spanned NMH’s two albums, On Avery Future/Song Islands and The Aeroplane Flies High (Turns Left, Looks Right) (with a B-side thrown in for good measure), Mangum was, according to accounts, “heavenly,” “God-ly,” and “absolutely transcendental.”

Don’t believe it? If this five-song bootleg doesn’t convince you, perhaps our exclusive pics of Mangum before, during, and after the surprise performance will:


Mangum wearing donning his signature pre-performance sweater.


Mangum levitating above the Brooklyn crowd to announce His return.


Mangum speaking in tongues after channeling a riveting version of “Gardenhead.”


Mangum re-enacting an old press photo with his NMH buddies before attending surprise after-show party.



01. Oh Comely
02. In the Aeroplane Over the Sea
03. Gardenhead
04. Engine
05. Ghost
06. King of Carrot Flowers Pt. 1
07. Song Against Sex
08. Naomi
09. Two Headed Boy
10. Two Headed Boy Pt. 2

Tim Hecker asks for the death of rave on new LP set for early 2011

Tim Hecker wants to destroy music. If you haven’t become privy to this aesthetic based on his previous recorded output (see: An Imaginary Country [TMT Review]), then the cover of his forthcoming album (above) surely verifies it. I’m sure the record itself will lead me to think no differently.

Having been an unusually mellow year for the normally prolific sound manipulator, early 2011 will see his return with the full-length Ravedeath, 1972 on the Chicago-based Kranky label. At this point, with such an impressive repertoire under his belt, it’s fairly certain that he can do no wrong. Hecker drops this piece of acid-washed melody on February 14, appropriately, as a love/hate note to music. Scope out the track titles and some upcoming European stops.

Ravedeath, 1972 tracklisting:

01. The Piano Drop
02. In the Fog: I
03. In the Fog: II
04. In the Fog: III
05. No Drums
06. Hatred of Music: I
07. Hatred of Music: II
08. Analog Paralysis, 1978
09. Studio Suicide, 1980
10. In the Air: I
11. In the Air: II
12. In the Air: III


12.03.11 - Minehad, England - All Tomorrow’s Parties
12.06.11 - Manchester, England - Islington Mill
12.10.11 - Geneva, Switzerland - Presences Electroniques Festival

• Tim Hecker:
• Kranky:

Pinback announce Pinback shows, shows that aren’t Pinback shows but sound a lot like Pinback shows (huh?)

What with their status as a band and all, it makes a lot of sense for Pinback to announce Pinback shows. And they’re doing just that with the announcement of a handful of shows occurring around New Year’s time. They also happen to be announcing a pair of shows billed as “The Rob and Zach Show.” As in, Rob Crow and Zach Smith, the two members of Pinback. On each date, they’ll be playing the entirety of one full-length Pinback record — specifically 1999’s This Is a Pinback CD and 2001’s Blue Screen Life. But these still aren’t Pinback shows, see, they’re “The Rob and Zach Show.” Okay, so it just means that they’ll be playing without the backing band that usually comes with Pinback shows. It’s Pinback but it isn’t but it is. Understood?

Pinback dates:

12.30.10 - Sacramento, CA - Harlow’s
12.31.10 - Reno, NV - Knitting Factory
01.01.11 - San Francisco, CA - Bottom of the Hill
01.02.11 - Santa Barbara, CA - Velvet Jones

The Rob and Zach Show dates:

01.10.11 - San Diego, CA - Casbah (performing This Is a Pinback CD)
01.11.11 - San Diego, CA - Casbah (performing Blue Screen Life)

• Pinback:

Axl Rose ain’t no Guitar Hero, sues videogame publishers for $20 million

Axl Rose, who must be running low on money or is looking for a serious wad of cash to put toward Chinese Democracy 2: This Time It’ll Never Come Out, has filed a lawsuit against Activision Blizzard, the publishers of the Guitar Hero series of videogames, for $20 million. What Axl is taking issue with is how the classic Guns N’ Roses track “Welcome to the Jungle” was presented in Guitar Hero III, as stated in the paperwork:

‘Welcome to the Jungle’ is a highly-renowned rock song of immense popularity…[and] is regarded by fans and critics alike as one of the greatest hard rock songs of all time….Guitar Hero has generated well over a billion dollars in revenue for Activision….Activision understood the extraordinary value Guns N’ Roses and ‘Welcome to the Jungle’ could add to the Guitar Hero platform…[and] began spinning a web of lies and deception to conceal its true intentions.

What Axl means to say is this: he was assured that Slash, and all past members of Guns N’ Roses, as well as Slash’s then band (Velvet Revolver), would not appear in the game at all. As those of us who played Guitar Hero III know, both Slash and Velvet Revolver were in the game and Axl is just pissed that when people think of Guns N’ Roses they only remember the period of time when G N’ R were good and that, besides a good lead singer, the band also had a really good guitar player. Sorry, Axl, the credit can’t all be yours. Good luck with the trial though!

• Guns ‘N Roses:

It’s the end of the road for LimeWire’s legal store

Although we’ve come to the end of the road/ Still I can’t let you go

—Boyz II Men

Although the Boyz most likely did not write these lyrics about LimeWire (considering the song is like 19 years old), they might as well have. Billboard is reporting that LimeWire is now suspending its legal music service. LimeWire had already been ordered to stop illegal file-sharing, and the site recently sent an email to vendors notifying them that the store will close on December 31. According to the website, the “LimeWire Store is no longer accepting new customers. Existing subscribers will not be renewed or charged but can still sign in to redeem any remaining song credits.”

• LimeWire:

Ducktails and Panda Bear representin’ for the animal kingdom via collaborative track on new Ducktails album

What sort of sounds occur when you combine two of the most notoriously gentile and majestic creatures in the animal kingdom? I’m not really sure, but I suppose we’ll all get an idea when Ducktails (a.k.a. Matthew Mondanile, also of Real Estate and Predator Vision fame) releases his collaborative track with co-sound landscaper Panda Bear. On January 10, Ducktails will be releasing a fresh new full-length titled Ducktails III: Arcade Dynamics via Woodsist. This release will include a bonus track featuring good ol’ PB titled “Killin the Vibe”. Not only will this bonus track be featured on the album but the release will also contain the original non-Panda Bear version of the song!! Word from Pitchfork is that both tracks also feature some guest help from Dent May and Woods’ Travis Taveniere.

If you don’t want to wade through all those pesky non-Panda-Bear-featuring songs, come February Mondanile will release a 12-inch prominently featuring the Panda Bear version as the debut release on his own New Images label. Got the tracklist for that right down below:

A1. Killin the Vibe [ft. Panda Bear]
A2. Couch Surfer
B1. Sit Around with Ya
B2. Killin the Vibe [ft. Spectrals]

• Ducktails:
• Woodsist: