MNDSGN signs to Stones Throw/Leaving Records, readies lots of nw msc

MNDSGN signs to Stones Throw/Leaving Records, readies lots of nw msc

MNDSGN — pronounced “mind design” or “mundisgen” — is L.A.-based producer Ringgo Ancheta, a prolific beatmaker who has released plenty of music via his Bandcamp and smaller labels like Fresh Selects. Now, Ancheta has signed to both the influential Stones Throw label and Matthewdavid’s Leaving Records imprint, readying an LP for the former and a tape for the latter. Mzl tv!

The first release, Surface Outtakes, is ALREADY available as a limited cassette. Later in the summer, Stones Throw will put out Yawn Zen, an album that “comes from a very neutral place that we, sometimes, are too busy to realize is there,” according to the producer. Could Ancheta be talking about Delaware, Switzerland, and/or Canada? At the moment, it’s unclear. Either way, this son of a neuroscientist seems to be making way more tunes than he can find a home for, which is solid news for instrumental hip-hop fans. Also of note is a new, monthly Boiler Room series titled “Breakfast with Ringgo,” with Ancheta spinning records alongside friends like Knxwledge. Before Yawn Zen is released on August 26, the lead single “Txt” can be heard below, and head to the Chocolate Grinder for a cut from Surface Outtakes called “Eggs.”

Yawn Zen tracklist:

01. Yawn
02. Homewards
03. Sheets
04. Frugality
05. Exchanging
06. Convert
07. Arklite
08. Camelblues
09. Txt (MSGS)
10. AM
11. Afternoon Shuffle
12. Zen

• Stones Throw:
• Leaving:

RIP: Tommy Ramone, drummer for The Ramones

From The Ramones’ official Twitter account:

We are saddened to announce the passing of Ramones founding drummer Tommy (Erdelyi) Ramone. #RIPTommyRamone

• The Ramones:

RIP: Charlie Haden, jazz musician

From ECM Records:

It is with deep sorrow that we announce that Charlie Haden, born August 6, 1937 in Shenandoah, Iowa, passed away today at 10:11 Pacific time in Los Angeles after a prolonged illness. Ruth Cameron, his wife of 30 years, and his children Josh Haden, Tanya Haden, Rachel Haden and Petra Haden were all by his side.

• Charlie Haden:
• ECM Records:

Danny Brown does Wembley shows supporting Eminem; DJ Sliink remix of “Smokin and Drinkin” makes you throw up repeatedly (in a good way)

If poor life choices and a difficult upbringing were unfortunate precursors to your chucking sobriety to the wind, or if wealth and privilege precipitated the odorous bedroom wallpaper made out of non-monetary greenage, Danny Brown’s inebriated exalt “Smokin & Drinkin” might’ve had distinct appeal among the otherwise fantastic tracks of Old. To be sure, a lot of Brown’s lyrics seem to be doused in white powder and packed inside rolling papers, but thus far, have we encountered so blatant a homage from the unyielding Detroit rapper? Why… well, yes. The guy loves repeated proclamations of his repeated drug indulgences, but it seems time to pass the symbolic spliff, temporarily, in the form of a remix!

Jersey “Club King” and newfound Fade To Mind associate DJ Sliink has just unveiled an unsurprisingly club-like rendition, which you can listen to below. Separately, so long as he abstains from offending the fellow Michigander with unwanted peer pressure, Brown (with Odd Future) will be supporting the now-sober Eminem today and tomorrow at Wembley Stadium in London. I’m sensing the makings of a new Odd Couple, where the series finale is set to take place LIVE… in a gutter somewhere. Let’s hope not though! It’s all about moderation, folks.

• Danny Brown:
• Fool’s Gold:

Amanda X share new single “Guatemala,” team up with Siltbreeze for first LP

It’s a time-tested formula. You wanna be cool? Like, icy, aloof, black leather jacket cool? Add an “X” after your first name. That’s how you know this new release from Amanda X is gonna be cool — I mean, if you couldn’t already guess from it being on Siltbreeze.

Now, in a shocking turn of events, Amanda X isn’t just one real haughty Teutonic woman. It’s three North Philadelphian women: Cat Park (guitar), Tiff Yoon (drums), and Kat Bean (bass). Together the three-piece make the kind of warm, grungy Raincoats/Sleater-Kinney-esque rock that gives a loving nod to the 90s. Back in 2012, they self-released the Ruin the Moment EP and started opening for the likes of Dum Dum Girls, Parquet Courts, and Marnie Stern. Their new LP Amnesia drops July 28. You can check out the single “Guatemala” below (via Noisey):

Amnesia tracklisting:

01. Guatemala
02. Dream House
03. Things Fall Apart
04. Tunnels
05. Nothing Wild
06. Parsnip
07. Low and Mean
08. Paranoia
09. Trouble
10. Woke Up
11. Friendly Tones

• Amanda X:
• Siltbreeze:

S undertakes series of cool choices, culminating in signing with Hardly Art and releasing new record in September called Cool Choices

Cool Choice #1: Jenn Ghetto, who already had a totally kick-ass name and also co-fronted Carissa’s Wierd, has a solo project that is so awesome it goes by the cryptic-yet-effective moniker of S.

Cool Choice #2: S had been chugging along for a few years post-Carissa’s Wierd until in 2004 Jenn Ghetto decided to put her sweet, harmonic bedroom rock songwriting tendencies on hold (not a cool choice). The cool choice emerged in 2010 when Ghetto changed her mind and started playing and recording again.

Cool Choice #3: Instead of the usual insular approach that Ghetto had adopted for her three prior S records, she decided to rope in some band members and road-test her songs for what would become S’s fourth album.

Cool Choice #4: Seattle label Hardly Art heard one of these road tests and offered to release the album that S had written.

Cool Choice #5: Ghetto roped in Chris Walla from Death Cab for Cutie to record a bunch of songs with S at his studio in Seattle.

Cool Choice #6: Given the series of cool choices made to reach the finished product of S’s new record, they decided to call the album Cool Choices. Which in itself is a cool choice and will be available September 23 via Hardly Art.

Cool Choice #7: This is where you come in: check out the lead single “Vampires,” or catch S live at one of the dates listed below.

Cool Choices tracklist:

01. Losers
02. Like Gangbusters!
03. Vampires
04. (guitar solo)
05. White House
06. Brunch
07. Remember Love
08. Tell Me
09. Muffin
10. Balderdash
11. Pacific
12. Let the Light In

Tour dates:

10.10.14 - Oakland, CA - 1-2-3-4-Go! Records
10.11.14 - Claremont, CA - KSPC at Claremont College
10.13.14 - Los Angeles, CA - The Smell
10.14.14 - San Louis Obispo, CA - Xroads
10.15.14 - Santa Cruz, CA - The Crepe Place
10.18.14 - Eugene, OR - The Boreal

• S:
• Hardly Art:

[Photo: Adrien Leavitt]