RIP: David Ypres of doom metal group Woods of Ypres

RIP: David Ypres of doom metal group Woods of Ypres

From BrooklynVegan:

David Gold, aka David Ypres frontman of Canadian doom metal team Woods of Ypres and member of The Northern Ontario Black Metal Preservation Society, passed away following a car accident yesterday near Barrie, ON, Canada. Gold was 31 years old and released three LPs with Woods of Ypres and was preparing to release a fourth via new home Earache. Woods 5: Grey Skies & Electric Light is due on January 30th…

• Woods of Ypres:
• Earache:

RIP: Slim Dunkin, part of Waka Flocka Flame's Brick Squad Monopoly

From Rolling Stone:

The rapper Slim Dunkin was fatally shot at an Atlanta recording studio on Friday evening.

According to Atlanta police, Slim Dunkin was shot once in the chest with a handgun last night around 5:30 p.m. The rapper, whose real name is Mario Hamilton, was preparing to record a video in the studio when an argument broke out. […]

Slim Dunkin was considered to be a rising star in Waka Flocka Flame’s Brick Squad Monopoly. He was featured on several tracks by Waka Flocka Flame, including “Fuck the Club Up” and had recently released a 20-song mixtape featuring Gucci Mane, Roscoe Dash, and Pastor Troy. Atlanta police say that Slim Dunkin was in his early twenties.

• Brick Squad Monopoly:

The Shins reveal details of new album, hoping against hope that those details might be of interest to you dubsteppers

Yesterday (per Stereogum), The Shins announced some details regarding the release of their forthcoming new album. And everyone was all like, “whoa, I totally love these details; they really speak to me intellectually but are also just plain fun!” Everything was totally cool, and all was right with art, business, and music. The end. …Except then, right after that, front man James Mercer totally fucking fired the shit out of those attention-hogging, creative control-grubbing details and hired all new ones. But, uh, okay. Now that he’s satisfied, here they are:

The new album — the band’s first since 2007’s Wincing the Night Away (TMT Review) is called Port of Morrow (yeah, pretty Shins-y) and was produced by Greg Kurstin (Lily Allen, The Bird and the Bee, Kylie Minogue). …Except that right after Kurstin was done producing it, Mercer totally fucking fired his ass from having produced half of it and listed himself as co-producer. Uh, yeah… suffice it to say, Mercer also played most of the instruments himself, probably firing songs one-by-one as he finished recording them. He’s been playing some new songs live recently, as you can see in the video below. (FYI, everyone at that show was later fired as a fan by Mercer.)

Port of Morrow is due this March via Columbia/Aural Apothecary. It was due in February originally, but… well, you know.

Port of Morrow tracklisting:

01. The Rifle’s Spiral
02. Simple Song
03. It’s Only Life
04. No Way Down
05. September
06. Bait and Switch
07. Fall of ’82
08. For a Fool
09. 40 Mark Strasse
10. Port of Morrow

• The Shins:
• Columbia:
• Aural Apothecary:

Matthew Dear leaves the darkness of Black City behind, prepares Headcage for 2012 by making some new friends

After taking 2011 off from releasing new music, Matthew Dear has announced an upcoming EP to be followed by his fifth full-length, titled Beams, sometime later in 2012. The EP, Headcage, will be released on January 17 by Ghostly International and finds Dear exploring a slightly brighter sonic palette than on his 2010 release, Black City (TMT Review). This turn toward the light could be attributed to Dear’s newfound interest in collaboration. In addition to bringing on co-producers Van Rivers and The Subliminal Kid, notable for their work with Fever Ray, Glasser, and Blonde Redhead, Dear also partakes in his first-ever duet with The Drums frontman Jonny Pierce.

In preparation for the EP release, the title track has been paired with a video of swirling, abstract landscapes courtesy of London-based director Morgan Beringer that accurately captures its frenetic, tribal energy. Dear chants, “I don’t want a new life” as the track slinks forward through a hazy digital jungle. This isn’t exactly new territory for Dear, but a continued evolution of the sound he’s been crafting since 2007’s Asa Breed that is very welcome.

Can’t wait until the EP comes out and need more Matthew Dear now? Well, if you live in Australia or New Zealand (where they certainly know how to name a music venue), you’re in luck, as Dear will be doing a short stint of DJ sets down under early next year.

Headcage tracklist:

01. Headcage
02. In the Middle (I Met You There) (feat. Jonny Pierce)
03. Street Song
04. Around a Fountain


01.20.12 - Perth, Australia - Likes of You (DJ SET)
01.21.12 - Brisbane, Australia - Bar Some (DJ SET)
01.22.12 - Wellington, New Zealand - Sandwiches (DJ SET)
01.25.12 - Melbourne, Australia - Novel (DJ SET)
01.26.12 - Sydney, Australia - Agwa Yacht Club (DJ SET)

• Matthew Dear:
• Ghostly International:

Eyvind Kang releases The Narrow Garden in January, a more violin-centric retelling of The Secret Garden

Composer and violinist (ah heck, we may as well mention he plays tuba and erhu as well) Eyvind Kang, who is most known for his Athlantis and The Yelm Sessions, is releasing his latest full-length, The Narrow Garden, on Ipecac come January 31. For those of you unfamiliar with Kang’s talent, you might have heard one of his many guest appearances with the likes of sunn 0))), Sun City Girls, John Zorn, Mr. Bungle, Animal Collective, or on this year’s Baroque Primitiva by Alvarius B.

According to Ipecac, The Narrow Garden is perhaps one of Kang’s most original and “playful” recordings to date.


01. Forest Sama’i
02. Pure Nothing
03. Usnea
04. Mineralia
05. The Narrow Garden
06. Nobis Natalis
07. Invisus Natalis

• Eyvind Kang:
• Ipecac:

Belbury Poly’s new LP The Belbury Tales out in February on Ghost Box (the label, not the haunted Xbox)

Images that crossed my mind while listening to a few random Belbury Poly tracks: orchestras crammed into rocket ships that zoom around Jupiter, robots walking in slow motion across deserts, witches who live underwater, abandoned houses, a valley filled with old fashioned televisions that mostly show static but sometimes flash moments from black-and-white horror films.

Perhaps such a thought collage is precisely what Jim Jupp (a.k.a. Belbury Poly) seeks to evoke with his music. He pieces together bits of obscure sources such as forgotten soundtracks and library music until the sounds coalesce into something like a dreamscape, resonating from some bizarre netherworld beyond memory and imagination. Belbury Poly’s fourth LP, The Belbury Tales, will be available on vinyl and CD February 24 and will feature art by Julian House and liner notes by journalist/author Rob Young. A few preview tracks are included on the most recent Radio Belbury cloudcast on The Belbury Parish Magazine blog, and the album will be available for pre-order in late January.

• Belbury Poly:
• Ghost Box: