RIP: Steve Jobs

RIP: Steve Jobs

From The New York Times:

Steven P. Jobs, the visionary co-founder and former chief executive of Apple, has died at 56.

Apple said in a press release that it was “deeply saddened” to announced that Mr. Jobs had passed away on Wednesday.

“Steve’s brilliance, passion and energy were the source of countless innovations that enrich and improve all of our lives,” the company said. “The world is immeasurably better because of Steve.”

Mr. Jobs stepped down from the chief executive role in late August, saying he could no longer fulfill his duties, and became chairman. He underwent surgery for pancreatic cancer in 2004, and received a liver transplant in 2009.

• Apple:

Black Star debuting new Madlib-produced material on Colbert Report tonight, cancelling shows after swinging and missing with Live Nation

Remember back when we so gleefully announced that Black Star was touring following their Rock the Bells appearances? Well, turns out things aren’t going so swimmingly for Kweli and Mos when it comes to their tour promoters Live Nation. So let me tell you a little story about how it all went down, like Uncle Mos would do….

Following their two-night stint in Chicago, Talib Kweli tweeted, “Due to irreconcilable differences with Live Nation Black Star will not be performing in Atlanta tonight. Stay tuned for updates…” And when the updates came, well, he went back on his word, re-confirming the ATL show, only to go back again to say, “Apparently ticketmaster has already refunded 90% of tix so the show looks like it ain’t happening. Im still fighting, headed to atl.”

On September 30, Kweli updated fans explaining, “Regarding Black Star cancellations, I am just as frustrated as I can imagine many are. If it was my decision it would not go down like this.” After a bit more back and forth, the entire Black Star tour has been canceled, save for an October 8 show at the Restoration Rocks event in Brooklyn.

So the good news in all of this? Well, at least Kweli was kind enough to tell us that on October 5 (tonight!) Black Star will debut new material in collaboration with Madlib on The Colbert Report.

• Mos Def:
• Talib Kweli:
• G.O.O.D. Music:
• Blacksmith:

200 Years (Magik Markers/Six Organs) album gets November release date, calms feral cats

Nearly 200 years ago, we reported on the newly formed duo of Ben Chasny (Six Organs of Admittance) and Elisa Ambrogio (Magik Markers), who were heading into the studio to record their lovemaking noises for all the perv world to hear. Apparently they got carried away with all that coitus, because only now are some of the details of that tryst being made available, with a recently announced release date of November 8 for their debut self-titled record on Drag City. (There’s also a second, “more abstract” release planned as part of the Grapefruit Record Club subscription series, though that’s been “release date TBA” for about 199 years.)

For people who’ve witnessed Ambrogio on stage at a Magik Markers show — writhing and incanting, crawling inside the bass drum, force-feeding audience members wine from a jug — it might be a shock to hear that 200 Years is a quiet, meditative collection of straight-up singer/songwriter material, but even more surprising is that the music is more gentle than even the average Six Organs song. In the words of Omar Little, BELIEVE: listen to a song from the album, “Solar System,” over on Drag City’s front page. Some real rolling-flaxen-hills shit right there.

As an aside, Chasny has posted a brief appreciation of Bert Jansch following today’s sad news. He calls Jansch “the singular, most influential musician on [his] own guitar playing.”

200 Years tracklisting:

01. Wild White
02. West Hartford
03. Dead Medicine
04. City Streets
05. Through the Trees
06. Partin Wayz
07. Thread
08. Solar System
09. Bees
10. More Than Alive

• 200 Years:
• Drag City:

[Photo: Cam Archer]

Hedvig Mollestad Trio release debut album on Rune Grammofon, collide genres in ways that scare toddlers

Hey, you got JAZZ in my PROG ROCK! No, you got PROG ROCK in my JAZZ!

Simmer down, kids — the Hedvig Mollestad Trio made a conscious choice to get their genres all mixed up and have put out an album for you all to enjoy. Shoot! was released September 23 on Rune Grammofon and is available on CD or as an LP (with free accompanying download).

The Norwegian trio is fronted by Hedvig on electric guitar and features Ellen Brekken on bass (both stand up and electric) and Ivar Loe Bjørnstad on drums. The three recorded the album live, and it shows — you can actually hear the tropical sounds of Norway (parrots, howler monkeys, jaunty beach-goers) in the background. It’s like being whisked away to a warm place where jazz and prog rock just make sense together.

Shoot! tracklisting:

01. Gun and the E-Kid
02. Ashes
03. For the Air
04. Doom’s Lair
05. The Dead One
06. Sidetracked
07. No Encore
08. Blood Witch
09. The Valley

• Hedvig Mollestad Trio:
• Rune Grammofon:

RIP: Bert Jansch

From The Guardian:

Bert Jansch, a leading figure in the British folk revival of the 60s and one of the most respected musicians of his generation, has died of cancer aged 67.

A founding member of Pentangle, Jansch was also renowned as a guitar virtuoso and was sometimes hailed as a British Bob Dylan. Born in Glasgow on 3 November 1943, he released 23 solo albums, the last of which, The Black Swan (2006), featured collaborations with Beth Orton and Devendra Banhart.

Jansch was the recipient of two lifetime achievement prizes at the BBC Folk awards – one for his solo achievements in 2001 and the other, in 2007, as a member of Pentangle. The band reformed in 2008.

• Bert Jansch:

OXES reform, ready two new releases, play shows: OH MY GOD!

After roughly six years without a new recording, math-metalers and members of “Baltimore’s Rowdy Society” OXES will (finally) be releasing new music. Before the end of the year, the group — Marc Miller, Chris Freeland, and Nat Fowler — will have two new vinyl releases, a 12-inch and a 7-inch, both of which will be released by Baltimore’s Friends Records (which also released Miller’s solo effort as Microkingdom earlier this year). Not much is known about the 7-inch, but the “Bile Stbudy” 12-inch, which features new songs “Crunchy Zest”(which you can listen to at the Chocolate Grinder), “Orange Jeweleryist,” and “Bile Stbudy,” is available for pre-order and out November 22.

And, hey, OXES are playing live again too! The band had already confirmed a performance at ATP’s Nightmare Before Christmas event in Minehead, England on Friday, December 9 (curated by Les Savy Fav), but as any real American will tell you: if it happens in Europe, then it doesn’t really happen. Thankfully, the band has announced a show at Baltimore’s G-Sopt on November 5 with Thank You and “special guests” (spoiler: not me).

Because we’re all very hopeful for the future here at TMT, we are predicting that these shows will inevitably lead to a North American tour, a European tour, and a brand spankin’ new album to lay our grubby mitts on.

11.05.11 - Baltimore, MD - G-Spot
12.09.11 - Minehead, England - Butlins Holiday Centre

• Friends Records:

[Photo: Jen Mizgata]