Guest Mix: TAIGA Records
ripped from the groove for you

No matter what the release or when it’s being released, Minneapolis-based label TAIGA Records puts an incredible amount of care into its vinyl-only products. From the reissue of Lotus Eaters’ Wurmwulv and House of Low Culture’s Poisoned Soil to Pauline Oliveros’ Deep Listening Band project and Rafael Toral’s incredible Space Elements series, each release features audiophile-quality vinyl and essays housed within beautifully hand-bound, letterpressed, and exceptionally designed jackets. These small-run art objects signify not only an extension of the aesthetics found within the grooves, but also a special degree of thought that’s not easily, or even usually, translated into the digital world.

Because TAIGA’s proprietor Andrew Lange won’t be pressing a mix onto vinyl anytime soon, we’re ecstatic about the digital mix he made last year for us. Rather than showcasing TAIGA’s formidable roster, Lange made a mix of Danish new wave, Swedish punk, Minneapolis black metal, powerviolence, hardcore, and more — all ripped, appropriately enough, from his personal vinyl collection. Here’s what Lange had to say about his mix:

For those familiar with the Taiga Records catalog most of this mix may come as a surprise. Although the label focuses on ambient, drone and jazz I listen to a wide variety of music, a small sector of which is found here. Made for TMT in August 2012 with a lot of the music I was listening to at that time, it’s mainly comprised of bands from Sweden, Denmark and Minneapolis with some others thrown in for good measure.

Stream below, and subscribe to our podcast here.

[00:00] OFF! - “No Reason to Complain” (Sugar Daddy Live Split Series #3 12”; Amphetamine Reptile, 2012)
[01:14] Knugen Faller - “Inte Som Ni” (Inte Som Ni 7”; Cage Match Federation/Ny Våg, 2005)
[03:15] Masshysteri - “Låt Dom Hata Oss” (Masshysteri; Feral Ward, 2010)
[05:43] Vånna Inget - “Spotta I Motvind” (Jag Ska Fly Tills Jag Hittar Hem 7”; Heptown, 2012)
[08:26] Bombettes - “Reaction, Take Action” (Get Out of My Trailer, Sailor!; Ny Våg, 2010)
[10:45] Terrible Feelings - “Impending Doom” (Impending Doom 7”;Deranged, 2011)
[13:38] Gorilla Angreb - “Timen Er Kommet” (Bedre Tider 12”; Feral Ward, 2006)
[16:42] Cola Freaks - “Sten” & “Sniper” (Cola Freaks; Douchemaster, 2011)
[20:47] Iceage - “Broken Bone” (New Brigade; Dais, 2011)
[23:18] Sexdrome - “Moriah” (Grown Younger 12”; Youth Attack, 2010)
[25:35] False - “In the Key of Passive Suffering” (False; Gilead Media/Howling Mine, 2011)
[38:07] Varix - “Problems” (Varix 7”; Discos Basura, 2011)
[39:48] Scaphe - “Rogue Consciousness” (split 7” w/ Cokskar; Insides Music, 2010)
[41:18] Condominium - “Life is Amazing” (Warm Home 12”; self-released, 2011)
[43:27] Melvins - “Flex With You” (Gluey Porch Treatments; Alchemy, 1986)
[45:10] Corrupted - “Rato Triste” (Se Hace Por Los Suenos Asesinos; HG Fact, 2004)
[55:53] KTL - “Phill 1” [excerpt with end fade] (V; Editions Mego, 2012)


Chocolate Grinder

CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we’ll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.

Most Read