Jakalope It Dreams

[Orange; 2004]

Styles: industrial pop
Others: Republica, Evanescence, Garbage, Hole, Auf der Maur

There's something about these guys I don't trust. The reasons I bought this, somewhat regretfully now, was for the credits of Dave Ogilvie (Skinny Puppy, David Bowie) as producer with "additional production" by reclusive NIN mind Trent Reznor, as well as guest appearances by members of Monster Magnet, Babes In Toyland, and Canadian rock legends Sloan. Then there's the cover that features everybody's favorite half jackrabbit/half antelope from America's Funniest Home Videos with a bleeding nose (come on... you remember the jackalope, don't you?). That is just plain interest piquing. It wasn't until I got home that I realized my purchasing decision may have been a little hasty. For one, I don't even really like Monster Magnet or Babes In Toyland. I flipped open the liner and was immediately drawn to the sight of Bryan Adams' shout out. That started me thinking so I turned on the TV to try to forget seeing that yuppie-rocker's name on my new "bad ass" angry music CD and was startled to see that the lead single "Pretty Life" and its video had been licensed to Nokia for a retarded "let's all gather 'round and watch a cell phone" ad. I was told Jakalope was supposed to be like Delerium jamming with Evanescence. Turns out it's more like Evanescence engineered by Nellee Hooper and marketed by Suge Knight. There are occasional cool electronic touches, but on the whole, It Dreams is a lot closer to the manufactured plastic pop-metal of Evanescence's ilk than any form of dreamy downtempo or hardcore industrial anything, as the lyrics are, without fail, torn directly from a 14 year old's diary. Reznor's production on all of three tracks and Sloan's spots are complete non-factors, barely noticeable even under the closest inspection. It's not a total loss, though, as there are listenable moments when the band kinda drops its "we gotta be really cool" ideals and just spaces out like the first acoustic half of "Feel It," the industrial ambiance of "Noting Nowhere," and for most of "House Of Trepidation." But usually the sound is of an assembled group of also-rans trying hard to both fit in and rock out. The whole thing is way too capitalist friendly and superficial to trust. Approach with extreme caution.

1. Feel It
2. Creeper
3. Pretty Life
4. Go Away
5. Tell Me Why
6. Don`t Cry
7. Screecher
8. Come On
9. Lift After Night
10. Noting Nowhere
11. Badream
12. House Of Trepidation

Most Read