Mark Eitzel The Invisible Man

[Matador; 2001]

Rating: 4.5/5

Styles: folk, folk-pop, Americana
Others: Califone, Red Red Meat, American Music Club

Would anybody pay attention to a reviewer who simply said, “You have to buy this album”? No further review, no bio on the artist, no intelligent evaluation of the lyrics or the music. Just a quick note telling everyone who reads this to go out and spend your next hard earned twenty dollars on Mark Eitzels’ The Invisible Man. Who do you say? You know, Mark Eitzel! The front man of the renown American Music Club, the author of the classic 60 Watt Silver Lining and West.(pause) You don’t know do you? 

For those of you who know Mark Eitzel probably own his latest release The Invisible Man. You probably own his entire discography. For the rest of you, I will attempt to paint a picture of this man’s poignant ability to speak the truth. Mark Eitzel is a modern day poet; he has the ability to speak words that other people would not dare say. His album is an open book to his innermost thoughts. In his words lie a peaceful, thought-provoking look at a world full of despair, hurt and denial. Words like “If the truth don’t make you happy/what will you do?” outlines the direction where he is taking you. If you think you are sad, lonely, depressed or just plain bummed-out, take a listen at how sad, lonely, depressed or just plain bummed-out Mark Eitzel seems to be. Somehow, he has the ability to know how you feel and expresses his sincere sympathy. There is so much compassion for failure pouring from this man that you can’t help crack a faint smile as you are listening. Simply, Mark Eitzel wants to “shine a light in your eyes” and let you know that he is there for you.

Where this album shines from the other releases is in the music. Mark Eitzel mostly went solo for this release doing his own producing, arranging and instrumentation. He has introduced a touch of electronic arrangements mixed in with his usual acoustic guitar to create a luscious landscape of heart-warming ballads. This collaboration of sounds creates a distinct musical direction but does not stray away from his original blueprint from previous albums.

So why would I buy an album that is so glum? Because for once, Mark Eitzel has shown us signs that there is hope in the world of despair. If you are not convinced, check out the closing track of the album “Proclaim your Joy,” and you will know that “it’s important throughout your life to proclaim your joy.”

So have I convinced you?  Probably not.  But who am I? I’m just a reviewer.  Pick up the album and let Mark Eitzel convince you.

1. The Boy With the Hammer in the Paper Bag
2. Can You See?
3. Christian Science Reading Room
4. Sleep
5. To the Sea
6. Shine
7. Steve I Always Knew
8. Bitterness
9. Anything
10. Without You
11. The Global Sweep of Human History
12. Seeing Eye to Eye
13. Proclaim Your Joy

Most Read