Goat-sacrificing German goths rejoice! Dais Records announces multi-volume Annabelle’s Garden retrospective

Goat-sacrificing German goths rejoice! Dais Records announces multi-volume Annabelle's Garden retrospective

All those goats sacrificed have not been in vain! Bicoastal weirdos Dais Records have spent four years laboring over their forthcoming retrospective for German “underground goth-wave/neo-folk band” Annabelle’s Garden, and now, at last, preorders are available for this fancy, ultra-limited gatefold double LP. Called Time’s No Measure (1987-1993) and limited to 500 copies, the retrospective is the first in a planned series of Annabelle’s Garden reissues. With a 12-page booklet and artwork by Eddie O’Dowd (Psychic TV/PTV3, Angry Love), the LP comes out December 10.

The Hamburg-based collective was active between 1987-1997, their music available on self-released cassettes and various indie European labels before being compiled on two CD releases in the early-to-mid-90s by Patrick Leagas’ (Death in June & 6Comm/Mother Destruction) Kenaz imprint. Annabelle’s Garden rarely performed, but when they did they made it witchy, performing outdoors in fields where once countless sacrifices had been made to the Old Gods (creative license), with loads of both traditional and homemade instruments (rusty cages, rain barrels) that would sound really cool were our generation not saddled with the legacy of early-90s traveling Broadway shows where the highlight was a dude playing 17 garbage cans and then tap-dancing across sheet metal. With a sound comparable to Death in June, Current 93, Dead Can Dance, and their ilk, the Dais retrospective features Annabelle’s Garden’s original 1993 Kenaz release Wo Sind Nur Eure Götter Hin? as well as tracks from the band’s first cassette release and a remix of their track “If.” Listen to opener “Vorwarts” below:

Time’s No Measure (1987-1993) tracklisting:

01. Vorwarts
02. In ein Morgen
03. My Unknown Child
04. Thoughts on Departure
05. The Other Front
06. Winter Moon Descends
07. A Path towards Nothing
08. The Final Deed
09. If
10. Mit Blumen auf den Lippen
11. Spring Day
12. Will You Wait
13. The Tears You Cried
14. Meranda
15. Wa-Ba
16. If (Flo’s Remix)

• Annabelle’s Garden: https://www.facebook.com/AnnabellesGarden
• Dais: http://daisrecords.com

Most Read