Yeah Yeah Yeah YEAH! Bikini Kill to reunite for a trio of shows in LA and NY; tickets on sale this Friday

Yeah Yeah Yeah YEAH! Bikini Kill to reunite for a trio of shows in LA and NY; tickets on sale this Friday
Photo: Tammy Rae Carland

2019 is young, but there is a good reason to raise a glass — and one that has nothing to do with the trivial turning over of a New Year leaf. Hang out the bunting and hoist your flags, because the Riot Grrrl movement’s most vibrant legacy, Bikini Kill, will be reuniting for spring-into-summer shows in LA and NY!

The shows are a near-complete reunion too. The trio of Kathleen Hanna, Tobi Vail, and Kathi Wilcox will be joined by Erica Dawn Lyle (who replaces Billy Karren) for dates in Los Angeles on April 25 and in New York on May 31 and June 1 (more info here).

Although the original spark of the Riot Grrrl scene fizzled a few years in, the importance of the movement — and specifically, Bikini Kill’s role and influence to it since the early 1990s — cannot be overstated. Wrapping philosophies on female emancipation and access in the music industry in proto-punk anthems, the radical feminist ranters brought the divisive nature of sexism in music (especially in the indie/punk/rock/etc. sub-sects) righteously into focus.

There’s no indication as to whether or not these shows are a starting point to more playing and recording, but…you’ll know when we do. For now, tickets for all three reunion shows go on sale THIS FRIDAY, JANUARY 18 (NYC shows at 9 a.m. PST/12 p.m. EST; Los Angeles at 10 a.m. PST/1 p.m. EST). All girls to the front, indeed!

Bikini Kill live:

04.25.19 - Los Angeles, CA - Hollywood Palladium
05.31.19 - Brooklyn, NY - Brooklyn Steel
06.01.19 - New York, NY - Terminal 5

Most Read