Boys Noize and Chilly Gonzales team up for Octave Minds album and other octa-themed activities

Boys Noize and Chilly Gonzales team up for Octave Minds album and other octa-themed activities

Super-producer is a term which seems to be bandied around a little too often at the moment, so I’m not going to describe Chilly Gonzales or Boys Noize as super-producers. Even though Chilly Gonzales is the bloke who put Feist on the map (producing Let It Die) and recently twinkled some keys for Daft Punk (on Random Access Memories) and Boys Noize has collaborated with some pretty well-known electro dudes (have you heard of that guy Skrillex? No? What about Erol Alkan?). Let’s just agree that they are really, really good at what they do and pretty damn popular, and then let’s say no more about it.

What I will say is that the two have combined their respective talents to create a project called Octave Minds. They say it combines 88 keys and 808 kicks. An octave has eight notes and an octopus has eight legs. So you might be right in thinking their name has something to do with the number of keys and the type of drum machine they used in making this album, which is also called Octave Minds.

The record is due September 15 via Boysnoize Records; the lead single “Symmetry Slice” can be heard below and confirms the album to likely be a pretty good cross section of both artist’s talents. Chilly’s twinkly piano flourishes gently morph into some freaky backwards effect and then explode into a hummable electro suite that is highly likely to become the motivational accompaniment to some television advertisement campaign in the coming months. In other words, it’s pretty damn good. Chance the Rapper also features on one of the album’s 12 tracks.

Octave Minds is available for pre-order on the Octave Minds website, though unfortunately not for $8. I’m beginning to question their dedication to this whole series of eights thing.

Octave Minds tracklist:

01. Symmetry Slice
02. Anthem
03. Initials KK
04. Tap Dance (feat. Chance the Rapper)
05. Royalty
06. Om
07. Together
08. Projectionist
09. Done Deal
10. In Silence
11. Symmetry Slice, Pt. 2
12. Rave Face (bonus track)

• Octave Minds:
• Boysnoize:

Most Read