Bruce Springsteen announces new album Wrecking Ball, and we’ve got an EXCLUSIVE EXPERIMENTAL TRACK

Bruce Springsteen announces new album Wrecking Ball, and we've got an EXCLUSIVE EXPERIMENTAL TRACK

Consequence of Sound reports that — according to those nifty iTunes Store preview pages — a brand-new album by our nation’s most treasured treasure is finished and set for release on March 6 through Columbia Records. Produced by Ron Aniello, Springsteen’s 17th studio album is set to shock long-time fans with its use of “unexpected textures — loops, electronic percussion… influences and rhythms from hip-hop to Irish folk,” according to a press release — not sounds one would normally associate with a dependably rockin’ guy like Bruce.

Lead single and opening track “We Take Care of Our Own” is available for download starting today, and you can listen to it streaming here, but that particular ringing anthem might not give a good sense of Springsteen’s bold new direction for the album as a whole. For those who doubt Bruce’s dedication to “unexpected textures,” we have an EXCLUSIVE stream of a deep cut from the album, which you can stream below:

A truly fascinating blend of past and future… we at TMT couldn’t be more excited to hear the rest.

Wrecking Ball tracklisting:

01. We Take Care of Our Own
02. Easy Money
03. Shackled and Down
04. Jack of All Trades
05. Death to My Hometown
06. The Depression
07. Wrecking Ball
08. You’ve Got It
09. Rocky Ground
10. Land of Hope and Dreams
11. We Are Live
12. Swallowed Up *
13. American Land *

* iTunes bonus track

• Bruce Springsteen:
• Columbia:

Most Read