Cinematic Orchestra to release latest in Late Night Tales series

Cinematic Orchestra to release latest in Late Night Tales series

The Cinematic Orchestra are next in line to release their own Late Night Tales mix, which will debut March 30 — the first Late Night release of 2010 and 24th overall in the ongoing series. The idea behind the Late Night mixes is to showcase songs and artists who influenced the featured artist or DJ; while the tracks chosen are usually varied in style and age, they often have a common thread — just as any good mix tape should — and often end with a story or spoken-word performance.

Among the elite Late Night alumni are The Flaming Lips, Nightmares on Wax, Four Tet, (TMT favorite) Jamiroquai, Arctic Monkeys, Air, and, most recently, Snow Patrol.


01. Flying Lotus, “Anties Harp”
02. Nick Drake, “Three Hours”
03. Eddie Gale, “The Rain”
04. Terry Callier, “You Goin’ Miss Your Candyman”
05. The Freedom Sounds (feat. Wayne Henderson), “Behold The Day”
06. DJ Food, “Living Beats”
07. Shuggie Otis, “Aht Uh Mi Hed”
08. Thom Yorke, “Black Swan”
09. The Cinematic Orchestra, “Restaurant”
10. Steve Reich, “Electric Counterpoint”
11. Björk, “Jóga”
12. Imogen Heap, “Cumulus”
13. St. Germain, “Rose Rouge”
14. Songstress, “Sea Line Woman”
15. Sébastien Tellier, “La Ritournelle”
16. Burial, “Dog Shelter”
17. Burt Bacharach, “South American Getaway”
18. The Cinematic Orchestra (feat. Fontella Bass), “Talking About Freedom”
19. Will Self, “The Happy Detective, Part 3”

• The Cinematic Orchestra:
• Late Night Tales:

Most Read