Damon & Naomi with Ghost back from the dead with bonus 7-inch on January 31

Damon & Naomi with Ghost back from the dead with bonus 7-inch on January 31

After meeting in 1995 and touring together in both the US and Japan through the end of the decade, slowcore duo Damon & Naomi decided to do something about the constant haunting feeling they were experiencing and collaborate on an album with Japanese psychedelic folk group Ghost. Damon and Naomi would send tracks to Japan, then Ghost would send back production and arrangement suggestions (as ghosts are wont to do). Eventually, Ghost floated over the Pacific and the recording that would become Damon & Naomi with Ghost was born in the year 2000. Despite what television is currently teaching us about the unholy union of the undead and the living, all hell did not break loose.

Cut to 11 years later, where we find ourselves in a world without access to Damon & Naomi with Ghost. Thankfully, Drag City has stepped up and announced that they will be re-releasing the album on January 31. Those interested in exploring the paranormal of the past can opt to purchase the album as an LP, a compact disc (to really get into the mood of 2000), or as a digital download. The LP version will be shipped with a bonus 7-inch featuring never-before-released material from the original recording sessions. Get it before it once again crosses to the other side…

Damon & Naomi with Ghost tracklist:

01. The Mirror Phase
02. The New World
03. Judah and the Maccabees
04. Blue Moon
05. The Great Wall
06. I Dreamed of the Caucasus
07. Don’t Forget
08. Tanka
09. Eulogy to Lenny Bruce
10. Femme Fatale *
11. My Flower (Watashi No Hana) *

* bonus 7-inch (LP only)

• Damon & Naomi: http://www.damonandnaomi.com
• Ghost: http://www.ab.cyberhome.ne.jp/~pochamal
• Drag City: http://www.dragcity.com

Most Read