Destroyer tells the world of his new record Kaputt, goes on to mention 22 less important things

Destroyer tells the world of his new record Kaputt, goes on to mention 22 less important things

Dan Bejar talks a lot. I’ve never met the guy, so I’m making an assumption here. That said, listening to a Destroyer record (or a very specific 1/4 of a New Pornographers record) is like hearing a rambling one-sided conversation from the man. Also, some gorgeous, inventive glam-folk. More proof to the “Dan Bejar talks a bunch” theory? Well, take the announcement of his new record Kaputt, following 2008’s Trouble in Dreams (TMT Review). It started normally enough, with Bejar telling the world the album’s title, its release date of January 25, and that the record would come out on longtime label Merge. Then he just started naming off these 22 items related to the record:

Kaputt by Malaparte, which Bejar has never read… Kara Walker, specifically the lyrics she contributed to the song ‘Suicide Demo for Kara Walker’… Chinatown, the neighborhood bordering on Bejar’s… Baby blue eyes… 80s Miles Davis… 90s Gil Evans… Last Tango in Paris… Nic Bragg, who played lead guitar on every song, again… Fretless bass… The hopelessness of the future of music… The pointlessness of writing songs for today… V-Drums… The superiority of poetry and plays… And what’s to become of film?… The Cocaine Addict… American Communism… Downtown, the neighborhood bordering on Bejar’s… The LinnDrum… Avalon and, more specifically, Boys and Girls… The devastated mind of JC/DC, who recorded, produced and mixed this record from fall of 2008 to spring of 2010… The back-up vocals of certain Roy Ayers and Long John Baldry tours… Merry Christmas, Mr. Lawrence…

Considering how many different things get referenced in a typical Destroyer song, I have absolutely no doubt that all of these things will come up, one way or another, on the record. But I guess we’ll just have to wait until January to piece it together! Until then, there’s always Archer on the Beach, the previously announced EP that finds Destroyer collaborating with ambient artists Tim Hecker and Loscil. That’s still coming out November 2.

Kaputt tracklist:

01. Chinatown
02. Blue Eyes
03. Savage Night at the Opera
04. Suicide Demo for Kara Walker
05. Poor in Love
06. Kaputt
07. Downtown
08. Song for America
09. Bay of Pigs (Detail)

• Destroyer:
• Merge:

Most Read