Details Revealed for Jim Jarmusch Collaboration with Boris, Sunn O))), and Earth; Spoiler: No New Tracks :(

Pie and ice cream. Squatters and abandoned warehouses. Coffee and cream. Some things just go together.

Now you can add Jim Jarmusch and Southern Lord to that list. Jarmusch, the visionary filmmaker behind such works as Down By Law, Dead Man, Ghost Dog, Broken Flowers, and Coffee and Cigarettes, has a new flick in the works, and as previously reported (TMT News), the soundtrack leans heavily towards Southern Lord Recordings signees.

Entitled The Limits of Control, the film centers around a "mysterious loner" in modern Spain -- so, you know, it includes at least one scene of a shady business deal going down as the fiery spirit of flamenco dancers accentuates the underlying passion of, oh whatever. There will be flamenco, that's all I'm saying. (There always is in these pictures.) Yes, Bill Murray and Tilda Swinton are in it, but no, RZA and Tom Waits are not. But that's okay, really, because this soundtrack is gonna knock your socks off. Or, you know, something a little doomier.

Slated for release on Lakeshore Records, the following current Southern Lords artists and tracks will be included:

Boris - " " aka "Smile" (from the Japanese version of Smile, on Disk Union Records)

Boris - "Feedbacker I & IV" (from Feedbacker, on Disk Union Records)

Boris -"Fuzzy Reactor" (from Rainbow, on Disk Union Records)

Boris -"Farewell" (from Pink, on Southern Lord)

Sunn O)))/Boris - "N.L.T." (from Altar, on Southern Lord)

Sunn O)))/Boris - "Blood Swamp" (from Altar, on Southern Lord)

Earth - "Omens and Portents 1: The Driver" (from The Bees Made Honey In The Lions' Skull, on Southern Lord)

The Limits of Control hits theatres June 3, 2009. The soundtrack is scheduled for an April 28, 2009 release.

Most Read