Disappears take custody of Steve Shelley while Sonic Youth sort shit out, announce new album and tour

Disappears take custody of Steve Shelley while Sonic Youth sort shit out, announce new album and tour

Don’t bother asking post-rockers Disappears what year it is. Each year their calendar just says the same shit on on it anyway: “PUT OUT ALBUM. TOUR IT SHITLESS.” Following 2010’s Lux, last year’s Guider (TMT Review), and the ensuing tours with Sonic Youth’s worst guitar player Steve Shelley on drums, the band members presumably hung out at home for a few days, hugged a few friends and family members, got into and then over Kinect Sports, and then headed back to the studio.

This time with Shelley fully involved in the proceedings, they went to Sonic Youth’s Echo Canyon West studio in Hoboken New Jersey to hit the next one. And right on cue, the new Disappears record, Pre Language is ready to be toured shitless. According to some press release poetry, the thing is all about…”love,” featuring “direct allusions to Philip K. Dick, James Baldwin, and Joan of Arc.” Alright, I totally know who at least one of those people are. But anyway, the album comes out via Kranky on March 1 and was mixed with John Congelton, and although they don’t seem to be touring shitlessly quite yet, I’m sure things will rev up in a bowel-voiding way soon enough.

Pre Language tracklisting:

01. Replicate
02. Pre Language
03. Hibernation Sickness
04. Minor Patterns
05. All Gone White
06. Joa
07. Fear of Darkness
08. Love Drug
09. Brother Joliene


02.18.11 - Vancouver, BC - Biltmore Cabaret
02.19.11 - Seattle, WA - Chop Suey
02.20.11 - Portland, OR - Doug Fir Lounge
02.22.11 - San Francisco - Bottom of the Hill [Noise Pop Festival]
02.23.11 - Los Angeles, CA - The Echo
02.24.11 - Pioneertown, CA - Pappy and Harriets
02.25.11 - San Diego, CA - Casbah

• Disappears: http://www.myspace.com/disappearsmusic
• Kranky: http://www.kranky.net

Most Read