Femi Kuti announces 10th album and shares title track “One People One World”

Femi Kuti announces 10th album and shares title track "One People One World"
Afrobeat never looked so damn comfortable.

Do you miss Fela Kuti? I sure do! (Even though dude died when I was three. (Boy, do I feel old!)) The world could use the legendary Nigerian composer and political activist’s visionary musical voice right about now. In addition to composing dinosaur-sized polyrhythmic funk tracks, the man had a rapier wit and experience tangling with absurd regimes — both of which help make his music a potent salve for, uh, all the SHIT that seems to be going on all the time.

Well, Fela might not be with us, but it’s great know that his offspring are out there plying their own takes on his groovemaster/gadfly dichotomy. IN FACT, Femi Kuti, the first of Fela’s kids to kick down the door to Afro-pop stardom, has a new album dropping VERY SOON…Ok, actually it’s not out ‘til next year — February 23, 2018. So PRETTY SOON. It’s called One People One World, it’s Femi’s 10th album, it’s out on Knitting Factory, AND you can pre-order it over here right now! Bam. Done deal.

Oh shit, I forgot to mention: you can ALSO listen to the album’s title track right now down below. Bless you, Kuti family! <3

One People One World tracklisting:

01. Africa Will Be Great Again
02. Best To Live on the Good Side
03. One People One World
04. Na Their Way Be That
05. How Many
06. Evil People
07. Equal Opportunity
08. E Get As E Be
09. Corruption Na Stealing
10. Dem Don Come Again
11. Dem Militarize Democracy
12. The Way Our Lives Go (Rise and Shine)

Most Read