OFWGKTA’s Hodgy Beats shares mixtape, reminds the world of his existence

OFWGKTA's Hodgy Beats shares mixtape, reminds the world of his existence

Damn. Did Hodgy Beats fall off? A perennially underrated member of Odd Future, Hodgy could always be counted on to string together a bar or two for a wide variety of scenarios: he’s proven to be adept at riding the horrorcore gauze of Left Brain (as Mellowhype), Alchemist’s classicist boom-bap, and Flying Lotus’ hip-hop futurism with the same laid-back, smoked-out flow. It’s not that he’s been any less prolific of late, but his releases have mostly flown under the radar, with Mellowhype’s INSA project receiving modest attention, and his own Untitled 2 EP going practically unnoticed in most circles.

Perhaps, then, he’s ready to reach out once again with his latest mixtape, Dena Tape 2. The intent is there, enlisting DJ-to-the-stars Don Cannon to host the thing, and Hodgy’s sounding noticeably sharp throughout, killing beats from the likes of Hit-Boy, Sap, Marvel Alexander, and, of course, his old sparring partner Left Brain. Hell, he’s even flipped Kendrick’s “Sing About Me, I’m Dying of Thirst” and Lupe’s “Coulda Been,” because we’re SO worth it! According to the press release, Dena Tape 2 “offers Hodgy’s most personal and concise artistic statement to date,” so if you’ve been itching for some depth and introspection from the OF crew, this could well be your calling. Stream/download below:

Dena Tape 2 tracklisting:

01. Self Titled
02. Hodgy x Doms (feat. Domo Genesis)
03. Cudda Been
04. Wild Boy
05. Miyagi’s Prime
06. Moneyball!
07. New Balance (feat. Domo Genesis)
08. If I Say So (feat. Hit-Boy)
09. Da Man
10. HakuemeniB
11. Freeallmyniggaz

• Hodgy Beats: http://blakkarmblakkfisthb.tumblr.com
• Don Cannon: http://djdoncannon.com
• Odd Future: http://www.oddfuture.com

Most Read