It’s a family affair: Tricky’s Mixed Race features his brother, a lutist, and Bobby from Primal Scream

It's a family affair: Tricky's Mixed Race features his brother, a lutist, and Bobby from Primal Scream

Tricky is back, people! After the success of 2008’s Knowle West Boy, the trip-hop innovator is returning with his second release for Domino, entitled Mixed Race. Scheduled for an October 5 release, the new album celebrates Tricky’s diverse heritage and includes the soon-to-be-released single “Murder Weapon,” a reworking of Echo Minott’s classic dancehall jam, featuring vocals from Frankey Riley, the Irish-Italian chanteuse who has been touring with Tricky for the past couple years. The album has more guest appearances than you can shake a stick at, with turns from Jamaican singer Terry Lynn, Bobby Gillespie of Primal Scream, lutist/vocalist Hakim Hamadouche, London-based vocalist Blackman, and Tricky’s brother Marlon Thaws, “who is the thirteenth of his fourteen siblings.” (Whaaaaaat? How does Tricky remember everyone’s names?) Mixed Race was produced in Paris, the charming land of fine wine, artisan cheese, and Marion Cotillard, where Tricky now lives. Sigh.

American tourdates are expected this fall. Yay!

Mixed Race tracklisting:

01. Every Day
02. Kingston Logic
03. Early Bird
04. Ghetto Stars
05. Hakim
06. Come to Me
07. Murder Weapon
08. Time to Dance
09. Really Real
10. Bristol to London

Non-American dates:

08.21.10 - Chelmsford, UK - V Festival
08.22.10 - Stafford, UK - V Festival
09.10.10 - Newport, Isle of Wight - Bestival

• Tricky:
• Domino:

[Photo: macskapocs]

Most Read