Light Asylum turn up the heat lamp on self-titled debut for Mexican Summer

Light Asylum turn up the heat lamp on self-titled debut for Mexican Summer

Hey scientists! Stop working on your life-saving vaccines and your pills to help dudes with “problems” get it up. There’s a new life-or-death issue grabbing headlines and a raging debate consuming the America’s best musical scientist. That question is… uggggh why exactly is Shannon Funchess soooo freaking cool??? We need our best people on this one. Because, If Funchess and her musical partner Bruno Coviello’s much-buzzed-about stint at SXSW last week is any indication, a severe case of Light Asylum Fever may soon be sweeping the nation.

Funchess has done her thang with !!!, Telepathe, and TV on the Radio, and now she and Coviello seem set to take center stage with the release of Light Asylum’s self-titled debut on May 1. Like the New York group’s earlier In Tension EP, the full-length will come out via Mexican Summer. It’s been a minute since the EP first took the music world by storm, but Light Asylum hasn’t been sleepin’: they’ve been polishing up their live show, collaborating with other artists, and releasing snazzy remixes. Last week in Austin, everyone seemed consumed by a sweltering thirst for more Light Asylum, so fellow fever sufferers, you’ll be relieved to see that the band is gearing up for a short US tour this May in support of their debut. Now go drink some water.

Light Asylum tracklisting:

01. Hour Fortress
02. Pope Will Roll
03. IPC
04. Heart of Dust
05. Sins of the Flesh
06. Angel Tongue
07. Shallow Tears
08. At Will
09. End of Days
10. A Certain Person


05.03.12 - New York, NY - Le Poisson Rouge
05.04.12 - Philadelphia, PA - Voyeur
05.05.12 - Washington, DC - Black Cat
05.11.12 - Seattle, WA - Electric Tea Garden
05.12.12 - Portland, OR - Branx
05.14.12 - San Francisco, CA - Public Works
05.15.12 - Los Angeles, CA - Echoplex

• Light Asylum:
• Mexican Summer:

Most Read