Los Campesinos! to Release Romance Is Boring in January, Xiu Xiu’s Jamie Stewart Guests

English indie-rockers Los Campesinos! seem to find an awful lot to be exciting: dancing, record collecting, obsessing over Xiu Xiu, etc. Romance, however? Not their thing, apparently. So much so that they’ve named their new record Romance Is Boring, which will be released January 26 via Arts&Crafts. “There Are Listed Buildings,” the record’s first single, will receive a digital release on November 3.

Romance Is Boring, the follow-up to 2008’s We Are Beautiful, We Are Doomed (TMT Review), was recorded earlier this year with producer John Goodmanson, whose resume includes work for Sleater-Kinney and Wu-Tang Clan. Think for a second how amazing (or terrible?) it would be if the new Los Campesinos! record sounded like a mix between Sleater-Kinney and Wu-Tang Clan. Not going to happen, of course, but we can always dream.

Speaking of dreams, Romance Is Boring contains at least one dream collaboration for those Los Campesinos! kids: a guest vocal spot from Xiu Xiu’s Jamie Stewart. Along with Stewart, the new record also contains vocal work from Parenthetical Girls’s Zac Pennington and The Dead Science’s Jherek Bischoff.

Romance Is Boring tracklist:

1. In Medias Res
2. There Are Listed Buildings
3. Romance Is Boring
4. We’ve Got Your Back (Documented Minor Emotional Breakdown #2)
5. Plan A
6. 200 – 102
7. Straight In At 101
8. Who Fell Asleep In
9. I Warned You: Do Not Make An Enemy of Me
10. Heart Swells/100-1
11. I Just Sighed. I Just Sighed, Just So You Know
12. A Heat Rash In The Shape of The Show Me State; Or, Letters From Me to Charlotte
13. The Sea Is A Good Place to Think of the Future
14. This Is A Flag. There Is No Wind
15. Coda: A Burn Scar In the Shape of The Sooner State

Most Read