of Montreal announce False Priest release details because Kevin Barnes NEEDS TO KNOW YOU’RE PAYING ATTENTION TO HIM

of Montreal announce False Priest release details because Kevin Barnes NEEDS TO KNOW YOU'RE PAYING ATTENTION TO HIM

Polyvinyl Records is taking a break from trying to get the world to listen to Cap’n Jazz again from some sort of historical perspective to let everyone know that the new of Montreal album is coming out this fall. As opposed to Analphabetapolothology, main man Kevin Barnes’ new album is called False Priest, which is comprised of fewer letters and less “cleverness” than Analphabetaolothology, but is nonetheless green-lit to drop on September 13 in the UK/Europe and September 14 in North America on CD, 2 x 180-gram LP, and digital download. Unlike Analphabetapolothology, the new album isn’t “seminal,” but then again, that could just be because it isn’t out yet.

Polyvinyl has also allocated valuable server space — every inch of which used to be devoted to promoting Cap’n Jazz — to the risky proposition of hosting of Montreal’s new lead single, “Coquet Coquette,” which is available now as an mp3 download here. Whether or not this controversial measure will distract Polyvinyl Records fans from Analphabetaolothology’s “seminal” nature has yet to be seen. Ideally, it would just turn more people on to it.

I should also mention that the of Montreal record (I forget what it’s called already because it’s not as memorable as Analphabetaolothology) was co-produced (at least according to Barnes) by Barnes and Grammy-nominated producer Jon Brion (Kanye West, Fiona Apple, Rufus Wainwright) and will feature guest appearances from non-Cap’n Jazz-influenced artists Janelle Monáe and Solange Knowles. The album was initially recorded at Barnes’ Apollinaire Rave studios in Athens, GA, with Brion redoing the whole thing later at Ocean Way Recording in Los Angeles in order to make it sound more “Cap’n Jazz-ish.”

False Priest tracklisting:

01. I Feel Ya’ Strutter
02. Our Riotous Defects (feat. Janelle Monáe)
03. Coquet Coquette
04. Godly Intersex
05. Enemy Gene (feat. Janelle Monáe)
06. Hydra Fancies
07. Like a Tourist
08. Sex Karma (feat. Solange Knowles)
09. Girl Named Hello
10. Famine Affair
11. Casualty of You
12. Around the Way
13. You Do Mutilate?

Summer dates:

07.25.10 - Jackson, MI - Land Of Nod Experiment *
07.30.10 - Montreal, QC - Osheaga Festival *
07.31.10 - Burlington, VT - Higher Ground *
08.02.10 - Asheville, NC - Orange Peel *
08.07.10 - Lake Worth, FL - Lake Worth-it / Bryan Park (Kevin Barnes solo performance) *

* not with Cap’n Jazz

• of Montreal: http://www.ofmontreal.net
• Polyvinyl: http://www.polyvinylrecords.com

Most Read