Recital closes out 2018 with releases from François Dufrêne, Jean Dupuy, and Reidemeister Move

Recital closes out 2018 with releases from François Dufrêne, Jean Dupuy, and Reidemeister Move

Sean McCann’s Recital label has had a banner year, dotted as it was with pillar releases from the likes of The Ivytree, Sarah Davachi, Cop Tears, and Karla Borecky — among a handful of others — alongside the stunning centerpiece that is the Simple Affections LP. But we’ve still got something like two months left in this ol’ beater of a year, which means Recital isn’t yet done working its magic. In fact, an entire trifecta of rare and unusual releases have worked out a spot in what remains of Recital’s 2018 McCanon, and as usual, you’ll want to catch ‘em all!

First up is a vinyl reissue of French sound artist François Dufrêne’s “impossible-to-find” album Cri-Rythmes, recorded between 1967–1972 and initially released in 1977 on cassette. Recital is issuing the record in an edition of 250 with a written tribute to Dufrêne by Bernard Heidsieck from 1983, the year after the artist’s death. Enjoy as “Dufrêne swallows the microphone, gargles the capsule, then vomits up the cables,” as any good neo-Dadaist would.

Next is a compilation of works from artist Jean Dupuy recorded from 1969–2017 called All of the Time. Recital’s LP will come in an edition of 220 and include a 20-page insert, but there’s also a special edition of 30 with an original signed drawing from Dupuy. If that’s not enough exclusive incentive for you, the record’s lead track, “Concert of Seconds,” was also recorded just for the LP! Hurry up and stake your claim on art!

Finally, Recital brings Reidemeister Move’s (Christopher Williams and Robin Hayward) sound novella Arcanum 17 to CD. Recorded in 2012 and based on André Breton’s 1945 novel, the composition brings “field recordings, whispered narration, and cloudy bass and tuba streams” together in an atmospheric mold. It’s available in an edition of 200 with a 20-page color pamphlet full of notes and photos.

All three releases arrive tomorrow, November 9. Pre-order one or all of Cri-Rythmes, All of the Time, and Arcanum 17 at the applicable (and a-click-able) links, and check out audio previews of all three alongside their full tracklistings below. Ah, 2018; you really were…something.

François Dufrêne - Cri-Rythmes tracklisting:

01. Pour La Montre, Et Contre
02. Crirythme Des Cocons Cocontractants
03. Stress Man
04. Paris–Stockholm II
05. Crirythme En Rut

Jean Dupuy - All of the Time tracklisting:

01. Concert of Seconds
02. Elle Aimait Bien Les Frites, Marguerite
03. Paris–Bordeaux
04. 2 Sound Texts & 14 Songs
05. Telephone Anagrams

Reidemeister Move - Arcanum 17 tracklisting:

01. Arcanum 17

Most Read