RVNG Intl. announces FRKWYS vol. 12 album and film, a collab between Robert A.A. Lowe and Ariel Kalma

RVNG Intl. announces FRKWYS vol. 12 album and film, a collab between Robert A.A. Lowe and Ariel Kalma

Hey there, friend, do I know you? Why, beyond the fact that I just compulsively referred to you as friend, there’s something about the smooth contours of your face that makes you seem familiar. Makes me want to tell you about new albums that are coming soon as we stand right here in this very Wal-Mart parking lot. For example, RVNG Intl. has just announced the next installment in their FRKWYS series. It’s the 12th, and it keeps on keepin’ on with the theme of “intergenerational collaboration,” following such groupings as Steve Gunn with Mike Cooper, Blues Control with Laraaji, and Sun Araw and M. Geddes Gengras with The Congos.

Is anything about the way that I gesticulate while I speak ringing a bell for you, possible friend? Pressing on: this 12th installment is entitled, quite fittingly if you ask me, We Know Each Other From Somewhere, and it’s a collaboration between Ariel Kalma and Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe. Kalma is a huge figure in experimental and ambient electronic music whose work dates back to the 70s and who recently had a large collection of his work reissued by RVNG as An Evolutionary Music. Lowe, who performs as Lichens, has also recently been keeping busy hanging out right near the top of TMT’s list of our very favorite movies of 2014 in the film A Spell to Ward off the Darkness. You nod your head in acknowledgement of these fine men, and yet you cannot even conceive of the times you and I have shared over the years as we stand here together in the produce aisle of a Midwestern Wal-Mart?

The album came together as the two blended their musical approaches in Kalma’s home studio in Main Arm, Australia, relying on a combination of modular synth work with the environmental sounds of Main Arm itself. It’s also accompanied by the release of a documentary titled Sunshine Soup directed by Misha Hollenbach and Johann Rashid, a film crafted from footage shot during the process of recording We Know Each Other Somehow. Both the film and the album will be out on April 13 in the United Kingdom and April 14 in the United States; pre-order and see more details here. Watch the trailer for the film and hear “Mille Voix” from the album embedded below. Also, here’s my phone number in case you suddenly decided to stop being a jerk and acknowledge all the fun we had at summer camp together back in 2006.

We Know Each Other Somehow tracklist:

01. Magick Creek
02. Mille Voix
03. Gongmo Kalma Lowe
04. Strange Dreams
05. Wasp Happening
06. Miracle Mile

• Ariel Kalma: http://www.ariel-kalma.com
• Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe: http://lichensarealive.blogspot.com
• RVNG Intl.: http://igetrvng.com

Most Read