Stars to release sixth album The North and meander down memory lane

Stars to release sixth album The North and meander down memory lane

Remember being sixteen? Remember learning to drive and getting your license and driving to the mall by yourself? Remember reading The Great Gatsby for the first time? Remember really liking Bright Eyes and The Shins and Death Cab for Cutie and Stars?

Imagine for a second that you’re still sixteen — would you have freaked out last week when you heard Ben Gibbard’s cover of “Set Yourself on Fire,” the title track from Stars’ 2005 album? Would you be freaking out over SPIN’s premiere of “Theory of Relativity,” the first track off Stars upcoming album, The North, which will see a September 4 release on ATO? Would the synths confuse you? Would you be wishing for the orchestral grandeur of “Your Ex-Lover Is Dead,” which you used to love playing over and over and over again? Would you download it anyway?

The North tracklist:

01. The Theory of Relativity
02. Backlines
03. The North
04. Hold On When You Get Love and Let Go When You Give It
05. Through the Mines
06. Do You Want to Die Together?
07. Lights Changing Colour
08. The Loose Ends Will Make Knots
09. A Song Is a Weapon
10. Progress
11. The 400
12. Walls

• Stars:
• ATO:

Most Read