TV on the Radio’s Kyp Malone Reveals Release Details on Solo Project Rain Machine

For eons, humankind has battled the elements. If we’re not being destroyed by hurricanes, the blistering heat is destroying our crops and livelihood. There’s nothing us mere mortals can do about the weather, except pray to the almighty gods above for mercy. TV on the Radio guitarist/vocalist Kyp Malone has a plan to change all that. By constructing an elaborate, powerful weather-control device, Malone hopes to save millions of lives around the world. The “Rain Machine,” as Malone has dubbed it, will change the fate of mankind forever.

Something must have gone wrong in the lab, though. Malone’s creation seems to be less of an atmosphere-affecting super device and more of a solo album (TMT News). Instead of harnessing the mighty power of the atom, Malone harnesses 10 songs blending modern jazz, bluegrass, and guitar rock. Instead of constructing a shell of diamond (the only material capable of containing the device’s awesome might), Malone created music that he describes as “a nearly full spectrum of frequencies audible to the human ear, a reflection of a variety of emotions and situations real and imagined - some rhythm some rhyme.” Instead of contacting the world’s nations for proper implementation of the revolutionary new machine, Malone contacted ANTI- Records and secured a September 22 release date.

Those close to Malone could have probably predicted the outcome of his ambitious plan. All blueprints for the machine were basically just drawings of naked ladies riding lions, which Malone decided to use for the record’s sort of NSFW cover art.

Rain Machine tracklist:

1. Intro
2. Give Blood
3. New Last Name
4. Smiling Black Faces
5. Driftwood Heart
6. Hold you Holy
7. Desperate Bitch
8. Love Won't Save You
9. Free Ride
10. Leave the Lights On
11. Winter Song

Most Read