“Teaching to Suffer”

The Chocolate Grinder loves AIDS and wolves (duh), so it’s only natural that we’d be excited for the TWO new albums AIDS Wolf are releasing in September. The first is called March To The Sea, due on Skingraft, while the other is a remix album being released by Lovepump United. “Teaching to Suffer” is off the former, but the latter should be pretty darn awesome too.

AIDS Wolf are touring soon, so check out the dates at their MySpace.

• AIDS Wolf:
• Skingraft:
• Lovepump United:

Sam Prekop

“The Silhouettes”

Sam Prekop (The Sea and Cake) has the best name in indie rock. Everyone knows that. But did you know Mr. Prekop is releasing a new solo album, Old Punch Card, that is less indie rock and more avant-garde? The Chocolate Grinder 100% approves of this move! The album’s out September 7 via the increasingly awesome-er Thrill Jockey.

• Sam Prekop:
• Thrill Jockey:

[Photo: wrestlingentropy]

Thom Yorke

“Planet Telex” [live at The Big Chill]

Thom Yorke, clearly going through his “grizzly troubadour phase,” played an amazing set at The Big Chill Fest last Friday that left me uncontrollably weeping. Okay, okay, I wasn’t there, but fansite AtEase posted some YouTube videos for us to enjoy, and since Radiohead-related stories get a lot more hits than your typical story, we thought’d we’d post his solo version of “Planet Telex” in order to get more adverti$ing money. So thanks, you! Check out more videos at AtEase, but not before you click on every ad surrounding this post!

• Radiohead:
• The Big Chill:

Antony and the Johnsons

“Thank You For Your Love”

Antony and the Johnsons are releasing Thank You For Your Love, a five-song EP, on August 30 via Rough Trade (which, by the way, features Bob Dylan and John Lennon covers). And let me tell you: It’s no coincidence that the track streaming above has the same exact title as the EP. It’s also no coincidence that the track appears on their forthcoming, due-on-October-11th album, Swanlights (it’s the lead single, bitch)! But is it a coincidence that they used my abs for the cover of the EP?

“Thank You For Your Love” is available for download here.

• Antony and the Johnsons:
• Rough Trade:

Fennesz Daniell Buck


Fennesz Daniell Buck — a.k.a. Christian Fennesz (guitar/electronics), David Daniell (guitar), and Tony Buck (drums) — are releasing Knoxville on August 24 via Thrill Jockey. You knew that already, but did you know Christian Fennesz might change his name to Buddhist Fennesz?? Hey, maybe!

Don’t forget that Buddhist Fennesz is coming to town.

• Christian Fennesz:
• David Daniell:
• Tony Buck:
• Thrill Jockey:


“Animal Arithmetic”

Here’s the second video from Go (TMT Review), Jónsi’s solo debut. NOW GET THE FUCK OFF MY BACK ABOUT IT.

• Jónsi:
• XL:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.