Aloe Blacc
“I Need a Dollar”

Aloe Blacc’s single “I Need a Dollar” is the lead track to the new HBO show How To Make It in America. It stars the TMT staffers, who has clearly made it in America.

• Aloe Blacc:
• How To Make It in America:
• Stones Throw:

Bang on a Can

Performing Dave Longstreth compositions and more at New York’s Merkin Hall

As we recently reported, the Bang on a Can All-Stars are performing music written by various composers, including Dirty Projectors’ Dave Longstreth, at Merkin Hall tonight. Don’t have tickets? Who gives a shit when you can stream the entire performance online at WQXR’s Q2 station at 7:30 PM EST (via BrooklynVegan)! From WQXR:

This year, Bang on a Can has selected four young and innovative composers for these world premiere performances: Swiss ambient-funk-pianist-composer Nik Bärtsch, UK-based electro-acoustic composer Oscar Bettison, Boston composer-inventor Christine Southworth, and Brooklyn’s David Longstreth, the driving force behind the ground-breaking indie rock band Dirty Projectors. The All-Stars also present a recently-commissioned work by British composer Michael Nyman and selections from Brian Eno’s seminal work Music for Airports.

By the way, did you know that “merkin” is defined as a wig made out of pubic hair? And that a former TMT writer used to go by “Merkin”? The more you know, indeed.

• Bang on a Can:

High Places

“On Giving Up”

High Places will release High Places vs. Mankind, their second full-length on Thrill Jockey. It’s due sometime in April. Most importantly, however, the above photo was taken by Hisham Bharoocha.

• High Places:
• Thrill Jockey:

Hoquiam (Damien and Drake Jurado)

“Zombies of the Sea”

Hoquiam, featuring Damien and Drake Jurado, have recently released its self-titled debut on St. Ives, a limited-edition vinyl-only label offshoot of Secretly Canadian. Only 500 copies were made of Hoquiam, but if it sells out soon, feel free to stream this song as many times as you want.

• Hoquiam:
• Damien Jurado:
• Drake Jurado:


“Never Mind” [Daytrotter]

Ganglians’ Gaglians was released on Ganglians’ label, Woodsist.

• Ganglians:
• Woodsist:


“Gangs Of Rome” [feat. Lambchop’s Kurt Wagner]

Mavis, the project of producers Ashley Beedle and Darren Morris, will release their self-titled album March 2 on !K7. Don’t know about you guys, but this track is making me horny.

• Mavis:
• !K7:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.