Brian Eno

Brian Eno is releasing Drums Between the Bells, his second album for Warp, on July 5. Read more about it here.

• Brian Eno:
• Warp:

Dylan Ettinger

“Lion Of Judah”

Dylan Ettinger, who released this slice of brilliance last year, is back! Actually, he was already ‘back’ when he released Botany Bay earlier this year on NNA Tapes, but I suppose we can say he’s back again, and he’s bearing yet another gift: a new 7-inch single, “Lion of Judah,” on Not Not Fun. Word has it that he’ll be back soon with a new tape on Moon Glyph.

• Dylan Ettinger:
• Not Not Fun:

Antony and the Johnsons

“Swanlights (Oneohtrix Point Never Re-mix)”

Last year, Antony Hegarty remixed the title track from Oneohtrix Point Never’s Returnal (TMT Review). This year, OPN “returnals” the favor with a remix of the title track from Antony and the Johnsons’ Swanlights EP, which was released via Secretly Canadian for Commodity Fetishism Day. Check out the stream at Disco Naïveté. (via FACT)

• Oneohtrix Point Never:
• Antony and the Johnsons:
• Secretly Canadian:
• Editions Mego:


“Don’t Need It Anyway”

New video from Lexington, Kentucky’s Trailblazer. I believe that’s him in the vid, looking slightly like a woman trying to look like a greaser-man while eating a piece of chicken. It works! Check soon for a 7” on Moniker Records.

• Night People:
• Trailblazer:

Hugo Keesing


I don’t have a trendy new gothic-chilled witchouse track to post, but man I like this track too. Actually, how can you not like a mashup of hundreds of hit songs throughout American history? I’ll let, ahem, Entertainment Weekly explain:

A massive compilation of every chart-topping single from 1956 until 1992 (or, more precisely, from Dean Martin’s “Memories Are Made of This” to Whitney Houston’s “I Will Always Love You”). “Chartsweep” was originally created by pop music archivist Hugo Keesing, who based it off a syndicated radio show from his youth.

It’s actually interesting that, rather than the Beatles entries into the mashup, the Rolling Stones “Satisfaction” is the first real blast of startling rock ‘n’ roll to catch the ear. Anyway, there are a lot of tiny revelations about our nation’s musical evolution hidden in this sprawling, sometimes irritating, journey in sound.

Five Seconds Of Every #1 Pop Single Part 1 by mjs538

Five Seconds Of Every #1 Pop Single Part 2 by mjs538

• Hugo Keesing:


“Alien Observer”

Grouper, who recently dropped a double album titled A I A (TMT Review), has released a video for “Alien Observer,” if the video for “Alien Observer” above didn’t already clue you in. (via GvsB)

• Grouper:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.