Dirty Projectors + Björk
“All We Are”

Mount Wittenberg Orca, the collaborative EP by Dirty Projectors and Björk, is released today. It’s a benefit album for the National Geographic Society, so head on over here to donate and git yer tasty tunes.

• Dirty Projectors: http://www.dirtyprojectors.net
• Björk: http://bjork.com
• Domino: http://www.dominorecordco.com

The Black Angels

“Bad Vibrations”

The Black Angels’ new album, Phosphene Dream, “is slated for a September 14 release on the newly revived Blue Horizon label,” according to online music magazine TinyMixedTapes.

• The Black Angels: http://www.theblackangels.com
• Blue Horizon: http://www.bluehorizonrecords.com

The Harvey Girls

“FWIW (Big Spider’s Back Remix)”

Portland group The Harvey Girls dropped their new album, I’ve Been Watching a Lot of Horror Movies Lately, today on Portland label Circle Into Square. Check out the exclusive remix by Big Spider’s Back, who’s from Seattle, not Portland.

• The Harvey Girls: http://www.theharveygirls.com
• Circle Into Square: http://www.circleintosquare.com

New Jerusalem (feat. Will Oldham)


It’s true, folks: Will Oldham (a.k.a. Bonnie “Prince” Billy) stars in a new movie called New Jerusalem. The film is directed by R. Alverson (whose first feature, The Builder, is set for release July 27 on DVD via Jagjaguwar) and is described as “a meditation on friendship, human need and frailty.” Sounds like a real gut-busting, side-splitting time!

• New Jerusalem: http://www.newjerusalemmovie.com
• Jagjaguwar: http://www.jagjaguwar.com
• R. Alverson: http://bit.ly/cHkRob
• Will Oldham: http://www.bonnieprincebilly.com

Donovan Quinn & the 13th Month

“Mom’s House”

San Francisco denizens Donovan Quinn & the 13th Month’s sophomore album, Your Wicked Man, is being released on August 3 via Soft Abuse (LP/DL) and Shrimper (CD/DL). Like my mom always said, ain’t nothing worth listening to unless it’s co-released by Soft Abuse and Shrimper.

• Donovan Quinn: http://myspace.com/donovanquinnthe13thmonth
• Soft Abuse: http://softabuse.com

Max Richter

“Infra 4”

Max Richter’s fifth album, Infra, is due July 20 on FatCat. The music was written for piano, electronics, string quintet, and you.

• Max Richter: http://www.maxrichter.com
• FatCat: http://fat-cat.co.uk


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.