Flaming Lips/Prefuse 73
Flaming Lips/Prefuse 73 EP

According to this guy’s flickr post, last month Wayne Coyne was giving out test pressings of the Lips/Prefuse 73 EP, the very EP that has now leaked all over the internet in the form of crappy YouTube videos. The songs are interesting, though Scott Heren’s presence seems fairly underplayed — or maybe it’s Steven Drozd who is absently floating around, or maybe the whole thing is? Still, I like that the band is experimenting with release formats post-Embryonic, even if they’re stuck in a bit of a haze.

• Flaming Lips: http://www.flaminglips.com
• Prefuse 73: http://www.prefuse73.com

Carl Calm

“Stamping Bent Memory Lagoons”

Carl Calm is one half of TMT favorites Caboladies, so it’s not surprising that the new Dayglo Port release shares those gurgling and shimmering electronics found on Crowded Out Memory. This is definitely a more abstracted and fractured sound than most of the current knob-tweaking crop is used to. Check out the full release at Dekorder plz.

• Carl Calm: http://www.myspace.com/smoothtaped
• Dekorder: http://www.dekorder.com/

Dylan Ettinger


With a Moog Rogue, Korg Poly 61, and Funkhouser 1, Dylan Ettinger returns (as promised) with a cassette entitled Pattern Recursion. Take a listen to the first track and you’ll hear Ettinger in fact using looped recursive patterns — a pattern rule that defines, in this case, each successive note — to kick off the two side-long tracks. You won’t have to wait long, though, before he swiftly darts from the rule to form various square wave patterns, the excerpt above being a good example of one of the more melodic moments. The tape is out now on Moon Glyph, in an edition of 150.

• Dylan Ettinger: http://dylanettinger.bandcamp.com
• Moon Glyph: http://www.moonglyph.com

Bonnie "Prince" Billy

“There Is No God”

Bonnie “Prince” Billy recently released a 10-inch with Matt Sweeney called “I Must Be Blind” (b/w “Life In Muscle”), and tonight he and The Cairo Gang will be performing a free show in Chicago at Millennium Park. But Bonnie and his beard are just getting started: today, he announced an even newer new 10-inch single, “There Is No God,” a charity track for Save Our Golf and the Turtle Hospital. The single (which is b/w “God Is Love”) will be released on Drag City on June 21. Watch the video for free above, and check out more free Bonnie shows here.

• Drag City: http://www.dragcity.com
• Save Our Gulf: http://saveourgulf.org

Balam Acab

“Wander” / “Wonder”

Word on the street: Balam Acab will be releasing a new album soon on Tri Angle. The label released a teaser last week called “Wander,” and just today they released another for “Wonder.” There’s no release date for the album yet, but if we’re lucky, maybe they’ll release another teaser next week.

• Balam Acab: http://www.myspace.com/thebalamacab
• Tri Angle: http://tri-anglerecords.com

Molly Sweeney

“Not Faithfull”

You may already know Montreal’s singer, songwriter, singing songwriter, songwriting singer, and singer/songwriter Molly Sweeney. She’s shared the stage with everyone from MV and EE and White Magic to TMT favorites Josephine Foster and Matana Roberts, and even performs with Sam Shalabi’s Land of Kush. In other words, she’s put in some work, so it’s about time she’s announced her debut album, Gold Rings and Fur Pelts. It’s due June 14 in the US (June 7 in Canada) on Syren Songs. Check out “Not Faithfull” above.

• Molly Sweeney: http://mollysweeney.com


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.