“Stand And Encounter”

After two EPs, one full-length, and several tours, Gowns have officially called it quits (FUCK!). The 17-minute “Stand And Encounter” was posted on Gowns member Erika Anderson’s blog as a free download. Here’s what she had to say about the track:

Before [breaking up], we were just finishing work on a piece for our next record, and I think in many ways it’s one of the best things we’ve done. At 17 minutes long, it’s a good representation of everyone doing the best of what they do best: it’s got Corey’s frenetic yet graceful drum patterns, Ezra’s swelling viola drones, a rhythmic and powerful guitar line, and a vocal and lyrical style that is at once direct and oblique.

You can read the rest of the obituary in our news section.

• Erika Anderson: http://cameouttanowhere.com
• Ezra Buchla: http://music.calarts.edu/~ebuchla/spat.php
• Corey Fogel: http://knitdrums.tumblr.com
• Cardboard: http://www.cardboardrecords.com


“These Hands” / “January Twenty Something”

• WHY?: http://www.myspace.com/whyanticon
• anticon.: http://www.anticon.com


“Drone Burger”

Growing are set to release PUMPS in April on Vice. Check out another track “Hormone” here.

• Growing: http://www.myspace.com/growingsoundnyc
• Vice: http://www.vicerecords.com


Haiti Relief Benefit Show at The Music Box

Okay, so this isn’t the highest quality Radiohead bootleg out there, but it does capture the full Haiti benefit show at Henry Fonda Theatre’s Music Box from January 24. It’ll make you feel like you are standing in the back of the venue with a blindfold over your eyes and toilet paper stuffed in your ears, but it’ll also remind you to consider donating to the Oxfam Haiti Relief Fund: http://www.oxfam.org/en/emergencies/haiti-earthquake

Go here for a download of the set.


01. Faust Arp
02. Fake Plastic Trees
03. Arpeggi
04. National Anthem
05. Nude
06. Karma Police
07. Kid A
08. Morning Bell
09. How To Disappear Completely
10. Wolf at the Door
11. The Bends
12. Reckoner
13. Lucky
14. Bodysnatchers
15. Dollars & Cents
16. Airbag
17. Exit Music (For A Film)

First encore:
18. Everything In Its Right Place
19. You & Whose Army?
20. Pyramid Song
21. All I Need

Second encore:
22. Lotus Flower [new song]
23. Paranoid Android
24. Street Spirit

• Radiohead: http://radiohead.com
• Oxfam: http://www.oxfam.org

King Of Prussia

“Waitin’ For Something”

King Of Prussia released The Time Of Great Forgetting earlier this week on Kindercore.

• King Of Prussia: http://www.myspace.com/wearekingofprussia
• Kindercore: http://www.kindercore.com


“Modern Drift”

Efterklang’s Magic Chairs is due February 23 on 4AD, the record label of champions.

• Efterklang: http://www.efterklang.net
• 4AD: http://www.4ad.com


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.