Jad Fair + Hifiklub + kptmichigan
“Let’s Win”

“Yeah that’s right…Pow!” there is a new record from the king of collaboration. It’s called Bird House, and this time Jad Fair is jammin’ with French experimentalist Hifiklub and Germany’s kptmichigan. In a world of music where everyone seems hung up on nostalgia and recreating the past, Jad Fair (most notably recalled as the voice of Half Japanese) is always moving forward.

Musically, this record features more synthesized sounds than the average Jad Fair record, as his partners fiddle with reverberating electronic textures as a groundwork for some fresh and groovy rock ‘n’ roll. Lyrically (particularly within the highlight track “Let’s Win”), Fair seems to be beaming with optimism. Although his signature nasaly schizophrenic voice hasn’t faded, his message is one of pure positivity and celebration. As others look to the past, Fair (who has recorded like billions of songs with millions of people since the 70s) savors the present and is stoked for the future. As buzzing synths prepare to transform into a cheerful slide guitar riff in “Let’s Win,” Fair says “This time is a good time/ This time is the best time/ Celebrate!” I don’t know why, but nothing feels better than positive affirmations from someone who seems totally bonkers.

The record is released by Joyful Noise and will feature Fair’s signature groovy folk art on the cover and screen-printed on the B-side. Read more about the release here.

• Jad Fair: http://www.jadfair.org
• Hifiklub: http://www.hifiklub.com
• kptmichigan: http://thekaptainslog.blogspot.com
• Joyful Noise: http://www.joyfulnoiserecordings.com

Sun Araw, M. Geddes Gengras, & The Congos

“Happy Song”

On April 10, RVNG Intl. will release a new installment of FRKWYS, the label’s 12-inch series that, in its own words, “pairs contemporary artists and their progenitors by way of remix, reinterpretation, and original collaboration” (and, in my words, “combines new artists and their forbears through remix, reinterpretation, and original collaboration”). The ninth installment features Sun Araw (Cameron Stallones) and his Duppy Gun Productions partner-in-crime, M. Geddes Gengras, taking it back to The Congos. The collaboration results in both a 12-inch, titled ICON GIVE THANK, and a film, ICON EYE. THIS IS GOING TO BE AMAZING. Check out “Happy Song” below and head to RVNG Intl. to see the film’s trailer.

• Sun Araw: http://sunaraw.com
• M. Geddes Gengras: http://www.wheresyrchild.com
• RVNG Intl.: http://igetrvng.com
• Duppy Gun Productions: http://sunaraw.com/duppygun.html


“SUPER MC !!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Last year, after compiling and releasing the untouchable, better-than-the-first Chicago footwork comp Bangs & Works Vol. 2 (TMT Review), Planet Mu’s Mike Paradinas released an equally fantastic, 47-song mix of leftover footwork tracks via Mixcloud (stream it now!). There were plenty of stellar tracks — Jlin’s “BOTC Flight Anthem,” DJ Roc’s “Next,” Young Smoke’s “Rip Miah Da Great,” every track by legends RP Boo and Traxman — but one that particularly stood out for me was DJ MC’s “SUPER MC !!!!!!!!!!!!!”

DJ MC recently released the track, among many others, on his SoundCloud, so now I can play it over and over and over and over and over and o-o-o-o-o-o-over and over again again again and over and o-o-o-o-over and over and over and over again and over and over and over again again again a-a-a-a-again and over and over and over and over over over over over and over and over again. Check it out here:

• DJ MC: http://soundcloud.com/mariocooper
• Planet Mu: http://www.planet.mu

Julia Holter


In Tragedy, Julia Holter exhibits an extreme form of patient composition via recording herself recording… Err, recording is what that barren sound was on Tragedy, right? With “Marienbad,” Holter presents that same kind of patience, only through noticeably time-consumed pop music engineering. Like, there are almost, like, like mini-movements within this five-and-a-half-minute song. You think it has anything to do with the two different labels’ (Leaving Records and RVNG Intl.) coastal rivalry? Sounds from the West being more washed; sounds from the East being bopp’y. Respectfully, RVNG Intl. is fronting $crill for her next release Ekstasis on CD and double LP formats, to be released early March.

• Julia Holter: http://juliashammasholter.com
• RVNG Intl.: http://igetrvng.com

Burning Star Core

“Practice April 4th 2008”

C. Spencer Yeh, who we had the pleasure of interviewing late last year about his new album 1975 (review coming soon!), has released an almost four-year-old Burning Star Core practice on SoundCloud. The lineup features Robert Beatty, Mike Shiflet, and Trevor Tremaine, and it sounds infinitely better than any band practice that I was ever involved in.

• C. Spencer Yeh: http://www.dronedisco.com
• Intransitive: http://www.intransitiverecordings.com


“Feedin’ Birds”

Look, well listen -er… read this: I’m watching WALL-E right now and it’s pretty much telling me that technology will eventually inspire humanity to procreate and redevelop society for humans on Earth. Fuck that. Fuck you technology, in which I’m writing through. *Sigh* Damn you, Steve Jobs! And the fact of the matter is I got WALL-E as an indoor “date-night” movie. I know, Choco is filled with much masculinity. I argue this is the opposite. Maybe. Gonjasufi — master of terror-beats and whose MU.ZZ.LEs loaded — is dueting on “Feedin’ Birds” with his wife. Now, I don’t know the definition of “straight.” Cause who do really? Just, Gonjasufi is a totes straight kind of dude. Don’t let me tell you what to do. Or change our perception on language. But check out Warp Records January 24 for Gonjasufi’s MU.ZZ.LE CD or double 10-inch vinyl, including a screen-print poster.

• Gonjasufi: http://www.sufisays.com
• Warp Records: http://warp.net


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.