Lil Silva
“Gobble That”

Amid the commercial dubstep craze that’s sweeping the nation right now, it’s easy to forget to pay respect to the genre’s founders across the pond. Before there was Skrillex, after all, there had to be Burial and Benga. And while some UK artists have adapted grime and UK garage to reflect a broader four-on-the-floor appeal, there remain plenty of stalwarts determined to stay true to the sounds of the London underground. Case in point: Lil Silva.

“Gobble That” is an abrasive, mechanical piece of EDM, with enough sexually-charged sound effects to attest to its suggestive namesake. The hydraulic, hissing beats mesh perfectly with the whirling bass, with some nice dancehall-inflected samples thrown in the mix — call it one of the sexiest tracks in the Funky scene right now.

• Lil Silva:

Heat Wave


Who gon’ be ridin’ low to Heat Wave this spring/summer? Hopefully y’all with this new REMIX SERIES Alex Gray is cyberfucking. All this bathdub ‘bout to drown someone in all this infra-pop. Floodin’ knowledge with mind-grape flicking and old funk smmmuring — nahhh, fuck it. Bounce that bass. Trip it a bit. Feel the wave that “JUICY J CAN’T (CYBERFUCKVERSI•N) (STR TRPP¥RMX).” Reality precedes character precedes lying precedes music precedes the internet precedes Heat Wave produces a beholder. Scope “JUICY J CAN’T (CYBERFUCKVERSI•N) (STR TRPP¥RMX)” and “THE REAL HER (SEAOFSILKSTYLEZ),” part of the Heat Wave remix series always coming soon. Don’t be shy.

• Heat Rave:
• Heat Rave:

King Felix (Laurel Halo)


It’s Laurel Halo season, readers. Next week, Halo will release the Spring EP under her King Felix moniker. The EP is due on Liberation Technologies, a new imprint of Mute Records. Check out “SPRING02” below, courtesy of Liberation Technologies’ SoundCloud:

Meanwhile, Quarantine, Halo’s upcoming album on Hyperdub, is due June 5. Can you feel the love?

• Laurel Halo:
• Hyperdub:

Death Grips


Death Grips were really good at the promo game from the start, tossing off their Exmilitary mixtape in 2011 for free like it weren’t one of the best albums of the year, letting vultures pick at it with Black Google, and offering a video companion for any song you’d like to share with potential pals. Now with major label backing, they’re doing promo like they’re doing rap, firing off “Blackjack” then “Get Got” then “Lost Boys” then AYE AYE AYE AYE AYE AYE.

Where to go from there but into the fucked unknown: RETROGRADE is Death Grips’ new video inspired by Mercury being in retrograde until Wednesday. Fair enough. But that video is made up of 109 separate videos meant to loop as “GIFs” (really, short YouTube clips), all original Gripz footage. Head to the RETROGRADE site and start/stop as many of the clips as you’d like in whatever order, or just press “PLAY ALL” to hear what I suppose is the “full song”! You can also check out each RETROGRADE video in order via the YouTube above.

Read a lot more about RETROGRADE in this statement/interview at The Creators Project.

• Death Grips:
• Epic/Columbia:

Madalyn Merkey


Well it looks like somebody got a vocoder — and I ain’t talkin’ ‘bout Kanye West. It’s Madalyn Merkey from Chicago, and she’s using it to emit some pretty bedazzling sounds. By simply rambling off improvisational cycles of vocal rhythm into her her fuzzed-out vocoder, Merkey constructs music which feels refreshingly aimless and free yet thoughtful and beautiful.

Available now through New Images Ltd., Merkey’s LP is called Scent. Smell it now.

• Madalyn Merkey:
• New Images Ltd.:

Mount Eerie

“To The Ground”

Last month, we posted a new Mount Eerie track called “House Shape,” a song off Mount Eerie’s upcoming full-length, Clear Moon. Lives were changed. Today, we’re posting another new Mount Eerie track, but it’s not off Clear Moon. The song is called “To The Ground,” and it comes from a new 7-inch featuring Nicholas Krgovich (No Kids), due April 10 on Atelier Ciseaux. (The limited-to-300 release also features a track called “The Mouth of Sky [M.I.D.I. strings],” but you’ll have to purchase the 7-inch if you want to hear that one.) Listen to “To The Ground” here:

Meanwhile, Clear Moon is out May 22 on P.W. Elverum & Sun. Prepare yourself.

• P.W. Elverum & Sun:
• Nicholas Krgovich:
• Atelier Ciseaux:

[Photo: Atelier Ciseaux]


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.