Mykki Blanco
Cosmic Angel: Illuminati Prince/ss [mixtape]

OH FUCK. Acid punk rapper Mykki Blanco has just dropped her debut mixtape, Cosmic Angel: Illuminati Prince/ss. Production by Brenmar, Gatekeeper, Gobby, Flosstradamus, Le1f, and more. Download it here (UNO NYC), here (DatPiff), or stream right here:

In other news, Blanco has just joined Death Grips’ US tour. OH FUCK.

• Mykki Blanco:

Monopoly Child Star Searchers

“Aviary’s Black Satin Stargate”

Leave it all behind, and arrive at the glass temple of melt. At dusk, the fortress is worn from winds of the night before. As the day turns, the interior drumming attracts friends who come bearing conduction gifts to help support the evening ahead. Plumes drift out of various holes and entrances of the structure, signaling those beyond our stretches of imagination. And as ritual presents itself in art amongst the walls, floatation occurs on the rocks above and, slowly, fluid conduction encapsulates the exterior. Flying friends flee and “Aviary’s Black Satin Stargate” opens above, striking down blots of light and might. The finest sands harden to the consistency of glass, and through the shell, faces both like and unlike humans peer through. Gazes so deep that these attached visages seem almost unhindered by force of weather surrounding the area. Star searching is complete; the birds have signaled the dimensional pathway; and beyond has returned. Are we on our way home? November 16, you can find out through Underwater Peoples.

• Underwater Peoples:
• Charles Berlitz:

Joe Cool

“Space Shuttle”

New Orleans up-and-comer Joe Cool bears no physical resemblance to Snoopy’s alias of the same name, but he’s a far superior rapper: a little bit sultry, plenty spry, and perhaps most refreshingly, socially conscious. His short-but-sweet take on the Scarface classic “Space Shuttle” includes commentary on electoral apathy, vengeful boyfriends, and the sad fact that “the teachers make less money than the trash man.” Cool’s new mixtape, Driver’s Ed, comes out in December.

• Joe Cool:

Babe, Terror

“Lifantastic I “

This one is for you, dude or dudette who loves dance but doesn’t like to actually dance. What to do with yourselves in such a situation anyway? The answer is choreography. Okay, now that might sound highly offensive to someone like Renée Archibald, who choreographed the silhouettes found in this amazing clip in conjunction with one of NY’s most brilliant video makers, EyeBodega.

But what can I say? The video features layers of shadowy figures waving their arms about in time to this music’s engrained hypnogogia for about nine minutes. And there is absolutely nothing wrong with that. In fact, there’s everything right with it; not a single one of those nine minutes (or any of the seconds in between) is in the slightest way boring. Look at the colors, yes, but perhaps more importantly, listen to them; to the deep evergreens, mellow purples, and vibrant yellows strobing systematically. The beat plodding ahead while also imploding on itself in a subdued supernova — all the 2AMs at clubs happening across the world occurring in one sonic space.

Yes, with EyeBodega’s help, Brazil’s Babe, Terror has created something especially special here, however extremely difficult to properly describe on this Knights record, which is available on an etched vinyl you apparently have to play from the inside out. Appropriate, since the record itself sounds like it’s slowly turning itself inside out — a celestial journey that’s finding its way into a center, exploring the already-familiar (in re-warped/refigured samples) to greater depth than I think I’ve ever heard, rather than reaching outward into a blank and negative abyss.

Babe, Terror’s Knights is available now from many distributors, but not likely for long. Check the YouTube source page for links.

• Babe, Terror:
• Phantasy Sound:

Scott Walker


Scott Walker has accomplished the impossible: he created an album that’s more ambitious, more experimental, and more surreal than The Drift. Bish Bosch is a terrifying mindfuck of an album. It’s also absolutely hilarious and unquestionably one of the most thought-provoking albums released in years, the product of a mind that refuses to compromise yet is clearly open enough to let new, twisted ideas through. The monochrome video for “Epizootics!” — directed by Olivier Groulx — continues this uncompromising aesthetic; like the album, it’s at once stunningly beautiful and incredibly dark, with a surreal sense of humor. Check it out above.

Bish Bosch is out December 4 on 4AD. Watch the trailer here and pre-order it now.

• Bish Bosch:
• 4AD:



Darkstar have a full-length album to their name — North, released in 2010 — but it’s a pair of 2008 and 2009 singles that are more responsible for having entrenched the group in arcane electronic culture. Together totaling 11.5 minutes of music, the tracks were included on Hyperdub’s very good 5 compilation, making up, in fact, two of the compilations biggest highlights. Slight in total size, yes, and deceptively simple in execution, “Aidy’s Girl is a Computer” and “Need You” unveiled soothing timbres and masterful beats, and now when Darkstar shares a single, historically there’s good reason to listen.

“Timeaway” is itself a first look at Darkstar’s next full album, and it offers as much access to euphony as that earlier stuff. In mood and movement, it’s a departure, but in the expert production and sheer intrigue, Darkstar’s profile shows through. The album is called News From Nowhere, and it’s set for a February 2013 release on Warp. But until the album drops, we have here three minutes more to add to Darkstar’s growing mass of soundscapes and electro-excellence. “Timeaway” will be released as a 12-inch vinyl single on November 12.

• Darkstar:
• Warp:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.