Oneohtrix Point Never
“Problem Areas”

Oneohtrix Point Never has released the first full track from his forthcoming album, R Plus Seven. The song, titled “Problem Areas,” is described by Daniel Lopatin as “a linear world with cracks in its edifice,” one “with a veneer of being breakable, but that instead just bends and stretches endlessly like rubber, preventing you from ever understanding its true properties. The proverbial ‘endless vista,’ but with an end.” Wait a minute, I thought I was the music critic!

Check out the track below, and interact with a digital cube by artist Takeshi Murata at Oneohtrix Point Never’s official website.

R Plus Seven is out October 1 on Warp.

• Oneohtrix Point Never:
• Takeshi Murata:
• Warp:

Bob Bucko Jr


That shrieking saxophone over the six-armed drum rattle gets me thinking about Boredoms. Funny how you can build the entire bed of a song from anything. Vocal loops. Bass lines. Synthesizer buzz. Unrelenting drums. And then, at any point, you can just bring something in screaming over the top of it, and I start feeling like the first 20 minutes of A Space Odyssey. Is noise music just “tribal” expression with electronics? Because this makes me want to pound my chest and worship fire.

Listen to all of Bob Bucko Jr’s Tearjerker below, and buy the whole record over from Captcha Records.

• Bob Bucko Jr:
• Captcha Records:

Insane Clown Posse (ft. Danny Brown)

“When I’m Clownin”

It’s officially August, folks, and you know what that means: we’re less than a week away from the 14th-annual Gathering of the Juggalos! TMT was unable to secure a press pass for the five-day extravaganza, so don’t hold your breath for any Katelyn Eichwald renditions of the Faygo geysers. What we do have, however, is ICP’s new clip for “When I’m Clownin.” Our more squeamish readers might be pleased to know that there’s nary a speck of gore to be found in this video: just a horde of funny, friendly clowns, including the always-amusing Danny Brown. Watch in amazement as Violent J and Shaggy 2 Dope cavort against a dizzying suite of backdrops that include circus-y spirals, day-glo stripes, and balloons; with all the nose honks and giggles and whimsical zoomed-in camera angles, you’ll probably find yourself scratching your head and wondering how exactly these guys were labelled gang leaders by the FBI. Of course, Danny Brown is down with the clown, so it’s only fitting that he spit his verse in a Hatchet man t-shirt, surrounded by fire spinners. Coming from the infamous ringleaders of the Dark Carnival, this sideshow scans super silly — but hey, even horrorcore’s gotta get happy sometimes.

• Insane Clown Posse -
• Psychopathic Records -



The deep slowburn practically belongs to inc. these days, so their new video for no world ember “angel” comes as little surprise. Why adorn one of the most spartan gems of the year? Zone.

Much else has happened with inc. since we last spoke, including this surprisingly huge flip of “5 days” by the recently self-reinvented Skream. Takes the brothers Aged to the opposite end of the spectrum, but still just as clean and pure as their signature sound. Scope Skream’s excerpt below or head here for the full dose.

• inc.:
• 4AD:

The Trying

“Ghostly Manipulator, Stillborn Marionette”

Get that attic dance party pumpin’. Everyone is invited ‘cause there’s always a flow to fuck with, right? Crazy bounce-out transitions into a variety of genres storming your party-going, beer-can-crush diet. Either you’re grinding to that heavy electronic neon-lit shadow dance, cast upon the insulation stapled to the wall, raging on a breakdown, metal bent and booze raining on a crowd of fists pumping, or freaking to a trailed beat-bit popped-out sermon: this is out there. People are right now ‘bout to light the roof off an abandoned farmhouse, dance in flame, and worshiparty into the night. It’s not about the fear or the freedom, but about feeling it all. Conveniently, it’s raining, and soot, blood, beer, and Earth wash off you, as sparks ignite from musical equipment surging. “Look out!” is yelled as you’re still dancing, and the explosion that just set off has hurled a 4x4 truck your way and… “I’d be better off without me” continues into reality.

“Ghostly Manipulator, Stillborn Marionette” is off The Trying’s Suicide Pact demo, found digitally below. But for a party like that, you gotta keep looking (or contact The Trying through his Bandcamp page below — hi)!

• The Trying:



According to the bio on Ekha, “Each song [from their debut album BCWTIOT] has been named for a friend that influenced the record physically, emotionally or spiritually.” Judging from the words and sounds of their first single, as well as the visuals presented by its accompanying video, one might guess that their buddy Ahsanullah is quite the character.

He/she is a ball of energy, loves to dance, looks ahead with great anticipation, always keeps it moving, and might actually be able to fly given the right combination of club drugs and weather conditions. On the other hand, he/she can be very introspective, deals in abstractions, pays close attention to detail, breaks things down to build them up again, and is capable of destroying anything in his/her path, especially gnomes, hourglasses, piñatas, and TV sets. He/she gets the party started, but is often first to leave. Or maybe he’s just the ghost of this guy.

We don’t know for sure, but what we do know is that Ekha is OneLoudBellow founder and jazz/soul singer Thimali Kodikara; Daylight Curfew founder and former Def Jux marketing director DJ Jad1 (a.k.a. Cassettes Won’t Listen a.k.a. DFalt); and multi-disciplinary designer/producer Devang Shah. And if after absorbing the audio-aesthetics below you’ve got the hankering for some more songs inspired by their friends, you can stream the rest of BCWTIOT on SoundCloud and/or cop it here.

• Daylight Cufew:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.