A proposition: Sascha + Julienne = Saschienne. Egon Schiele? Nah, but equally intimate! They’re husband and wife, you see, and though their featured track, “Unknown,” blazes through your wifi darkly and with a slightly sexual sheen, there’s a certain romance to the thing. He — the acclaimed Mr. Sascha Funke (Mr. Funke?! Nah, but equally… uh… rhythmic?) — has been hailed as “one of Germany’s greatest Techno auteurs,”, while she — Mrs. Julienne Dessagne — is a contemporary piano player and semi-professional dancer. Together, they sound fully prepared to go head-to-head with Geoff Barrow and Beth Gibbons. Saschienne vs. BGGB. A nice symmetry and balance, no? But back to the track: Saschienne is clearly the project of practiced hands. Mature restraint, subtle mounting sounds, tasteful and tasty timbres. As you listen to “Unknown,” it’ll become clear that somewhere out in the pulsing glow of space, certain stars have aligned, and in that precision Saschienne was born.

The album, also named Unknown, will be out on March 26 from Kompakt.

• Saschienne:
• Kompakt:

Odd Future


Odd Future has released the first video from their forthcoming group album, OF Tape Vol. 2. Produced by Left Brain, “Rella” features the beautiful poetry of Domo Genesis, Hodgy Beats, and Tyler, The Creator. The video’s especially safe for work, so consider using the office projector.

• Odd Future:

Bird Names

“Grow Each Other”

Last year, Georgia group Bird Names released their fifth album, Metabolism: A Salute to the Energy of the Sun, on Northern Spy. It was a completely unrefined, lo-fi shit-brew of melodic quirk and rhythmic oddbeats, garage-kraut twang and demented-pop. And it was fucking great. “Grow Each Other,” the album’s third track, just got the Vimeo treatment. As you’ll soon see, the video, directed by Francis Carr, is a perfect visual representation of Bird Names’ aesthetic: bright, pulsating, and jarring. Check out the video above, and head over to Northern Spy to pick up Metabolism, as well as new albums released last week from Donovan Quinn and the Charles Gayle Trio.

• Bird Names:
• Northern-Spy: http://northern-spy.commel



In 2010, Finnish composer Olli Aarni (cool name) called himself Ous Mal (even cooler) and released a lovely record called Nuojuva Halava (coolest). Apparently, Aarni realized that his album name sounded totally awesome and decided to change his recording name to Nuojuva (super fucking cool). Under this new moniker, Nuojuva will release a new album entitled Valot Kaukaa March 27 on Preservation Records. So this means that sometime in 2014 this guy will call himself “Valot” and release an album called Nivekken Whompidompus… or something.

But until then, we have the cozy aimless bliss of Valot Kaukaa to keep us company. Comfortable lines of flute, piano, and muted horn dance together atop crackling faraway vocals, which are iced with layers of birdsong and delicate guitar in “Laakso” (which reminds me a lot of the fan who sits on the other side of the room from me), and is also streaming on the label’s site.

• Nuojuva:
• Preservation:

Chrysta Bell

“Real Love”

I’m of the opinion that nothing more needs to be said about David Lynch’s 2011 album beyond its title: Crazy Clown Time. Either you like your clowns crazed or you don’t. Chrysta Bell, on the other hand, who’s worked with producer Lynch for the past 14 years on one album, takes a bit more delving. Lynch’s influence and aesthetic visions are still present, but more in the framing of the music than its actual content. Fans familiar with his film’s smoky jazz proclivities and Americana highway fetishism (see: Blue Velvet, Twin Peaks, etc.) will understand immediately why he likes Ms. Bell.

While the beginning of “Real Love” could be an outtake from CCT, the rest of the video belongs to Bell, both in Sound and in Vision. If there’s something that Lynch alone is surely incapable of, it’s to torque his abs so alarmingly. Don’t worry, Bell’s got it under control. Her album This Train is available now from her very own label, La Rose Noire. [via Dazed Digital]

• Chrysta Bell:


“Octopus In Your Dreams”

It is certainly no new thing to liken the vastness of Earth’s oceans to the boundless void of outer space, but it is a relevant comparison to observe at a time like this. While many modern synthesizer musicians are star-gazing and emitting cosmic visions and extraterrestrial landscapes, Panabrite looks down the depths of our own ocean, a place where weightlessness and darkness can be just as alien and frightening as what’s beyond our atmosphere. The similarities that can be drawn between the sea and space also includes their potential soundtracks. Distant bleeping synths may be a passing spaceship, or possibly a submarine. Delicate arpeggios may be bubbles of air hurriedly racing to the surface, or it may be distant stars and planets shining through the pitch-blackness. Just change the cover art from a supernova to a sea anemone and include words like “deep, barnacles, dive, and abyss” to the track titles and suddenly we’re underwater.

Panabrite is Seattle-based Norman Chambers, and whether he’s zipping around space or sinking into the briny deep, he is creating magically transportive music. Mesmerizing ambience and drifting analog synthesizer arpeggiations make up Sub-Aquatic Meditation, his newest release out now on Aguirre Records. This is Panabrite’s first LP, but only after a whole bunch of cassettes released over the past few years. The video is for the track “Octopus In Your Dreams” and is just that. You can also stream the whole album on the label’s site.

• Panabrite:
• Aguirre:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.