Mamiffer / Pyramids
Split 12”

It was with much sadness that we received news of the ”imminent demise” of Hydra Head Records. For nearly 20 years, Hydra Head has been altering the way we think about heavy (and, occasionally, not so heavy) music, while simultaneously perfecting the art of unbelievably badass packaging. Their absence will be our loss. On a small, personal note: given the countless ways in which Hydra Head’s output has moved and shaped me over the last 15 years, it’s an honor to be premiering one of their final releases. Requiescat in pace, HHR.

On October 16, Hydra Head will release a split 12-inch from Mamiffer (Washington) and Pyramids (Texas). Although both artists will be releasing unique compositions, there is (to shamelessly borrow from the very accurate press release) a unity of vision — both sonic and emotional — at work here. You can preview the full split below, so I won’t waste too many words. Suffice it to say, however, that it — all of it — is a strange, gorgeous, and sometimes overwhelming mix of acoustics and electronics. In short, it’s a stunning release. Think Grouper meets William Fowler Collins. Think Jefre Cantu-Ledesma meets Neurosis. Or, hell, just think “Mamiffer” and “Pyramids,” as both have long since established themselves enough to be the bands to which other bands ought to be compared.

Furthermore, a limited-edition photo book by Faith Coloccia is available with the clear/black vinyl for an additional $5. Considering the work contained in the booklet accompanying the Locrian/Mamiffer collaboration (a personal and TMT favorite), I’d suggest you spend the extra $5.

• Mamiffer:
• Pyramids:
• Hydra Head:

Lil B

Illusions Of Grandeur 2 [mixtape]

“YESSSSSSSSSS.” That’s now one of my favorite Lil B lyrics, and you’ll hear it a lot on his latest mixtape, Illusions of Grandeur 2, the follow-up to last year’s installment. This release sees Lil B on autopilot, and I mean that in the #based possible way. I love him. He loves you, too. In fact, I saw him live a couple weeks ago, and he said “I love you” over 20 times in a row. He also told us to give it up for our parents, handed out bottled water, and did the cooking dance. It was one of the best live shows I’ve ever seen, to the most eclectic crowd I’ve ever seen. Task Force is strong. Protect Lil B at all costs.

Download Illusions of Grandeur 2 from DatPiff here and/or stream below here:

Meanwhile, Lil B’s rock album is due in late December. We can probably expect at least one more mixtape before then.

• Lil B:

Walter Day


“The mode of production of material life determines the social, political and intellectual life process in general. It is not the consciousness of men that determines their being, but, on the contrary, their social being that determines their consciousness.”
– Karl Marx, A Contribution to the Critique of Political Economy

“Being and time determine each other reciprocally, but in such a manner that neither can the former - Being - be addressed as something temporal nor can the latter - time - be addressed as a being.”
– Martin Heidegger, Being and Time

“I am myself and my circumstances, and if I do not save them, I do not save myself”
– Ortega Y Gasset, Meditaciones del Quijote

“We are”
– The Cheeky Girls, Cheeky Song (Touch My Bum)

“I wanted to be a hero. I wanted to be the center of attention. I wanted the glory, I wanted the fame. I wanted the pretty girls to come up and say, ‘Hi, I see that you’re good at Centipede.’”
Walter Day

• SLF Tapes:

Rick Ross

The Black Bar Mitzvah [mixtape]

I quite like that Maybach Music. Anyone else, besides my pal Mickey and me, ever wish Ricky made you a personal shout-out on the “Intro” track? Yet, that classic and terribly amazing king-boss personification is BACK with The Black Bar Mitzvah mixtape, recycling the most pop’d radio-rap tracks and ripping them some new Ross. Don’t matter if it’s trash, and it really ain’t, but Rozay is a radio CEO, so face front and serve your ears some bubbles. Rick Ross for president!! Like, it’s all there. This is pretty much just Rick Ross’ playlist, his mitzvah, and him rapping over whatever the fuck he wants. Yo, there was a countdown for this yesterday. I suppose my only complaint is that I wish I heard more Ross. The licks he got are wet, yo, but they don’t stick, ya feel me? Ehhhh, shit. Ross. “Said fuck me and she wanna fuck me!” Rick Ross fucked me for his vote. wOOp, “911” setting some originality straight, no? Ohhhhhh’kay — “originality.” “Bands” is okay. Into “Itchin’.” Can’t fail when Mike WILL Made It. Someone huge come out with a mixtape and just make guttural noises throughout their favorite 2012 tracks. FUCK YOU, YOUNG JEEZY. SAY IT TO HIS FACE!!!!!!!

• Rick Ross:
• datPiff:

The Garment District

“Nature Nurture (Sonic Boom Remix)” b/w “Miraculous Metal” / “Vigor”

For a certain kind of fan, the words “sonic boom” instantly evoke two esteemed cult culture figures. Each of them rose to prominence a couple decades ago, thanks to experimentation and success with digital tools, back in the technology’s nascent days. One of them fights un-American street thugs with hooks of psychedelic light spinning from his arms. The other fights the banality of existence with disarming psychedelic hooks that will spin and light up your head.

There’s a meme averring that Guile’s theme music goes with everything. That’s all well and good, but a certain kind of fan knows it’s much more captivating when Spectrum’s Sonic Boom — Peter Kember — gets involved with anything.

This time, he’s got his hooks into the track “Nature Nurture” by The Garment District (alter ego, Jennifer Baron), from her debut tape Melody Elder. The original is a synthesizer affair that arpeggiates forward with stately grace, as if meant to accompany a procession through a digital chapel. Well, who’s better at pairing synths and Christ than a former partner of Spacemen 3? Sonic Boom’s remix is generally subtle, opting to fray the edges of the track’s tones rather than totally reweaving it as all new tapestry.

Sonic Boom’s remix of “Nature Nurture” is available October 15 on a 7-inch from La Station Radar, backed by “Miraculous Metals and “Vigor,” both originals by The Garment District. Check Tiny Mix Tapes’ premiere of the digital tracks below.

• The Garment District:
• Sonic Boom:
• La Station Radar:

Pig Destroyer

“The Diplomat”

What would the Chocolate Grinder be without some grind? Pig Destroyer, the undisputed kings of the genre, are set to release Book Burner on October 22, and judging from this preview, “The Diplomat,” we’re in for a treat. The blast-beats are bludgeoning, the guitar riffs as writhing and relentless as ever, and J.R. Hayes’ vocals are as cathartic and caustic as ever. It’s been five years since we last heard from the Virginia quartet, so it’s nice to see them back on their daily grind (sorry, couldn’t help the pun). The new LP will cram 19 tracks into 32 minutes — hope you’re ready. Listen here.

• Pig Destroyer:
• Relapse:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.