Crystal Antlers
“Summer Solstice”

Check out this video of Crystal Antlers performing new track “Summer Solstice.” It was filmed at Incase’s Room 205, essentially an awesome rehearsal-room-turned-performance-space in downtown LA. Learn more about the Room here and especially here.

• Crystal Antlers: http://www.crystalantlers.com
• Room 205: http://www.goincase.com/room205

Chocolate Grinder Mix 40

“Chill, Winston”

Turn off your mind, relax, and float downstream. It is a mix tape. It is a mix tape that actually doesn’t have much (or anything) to do with The Beatles, though the sentiment expressed in “Tomorrow Never Knows” is quite appropriate for it. There is a little bit of bass here and there, but the order of the day is chill, be it through the ambient downtempo of Asura and Black Moth Super Rainbow member The Seven Fields of Aphelion, the instrumental hip-hop of Take and Yuuki Matthews, the cutesy folktronica of Polka Dot Dot Dot, or the rustic acoustic guitar of Bill Dolan. All of these tracks should take you where you need to go.

01. Lobisomem - “Church River Graffiti Knife” (Brightest Solids EP)
Start time: 0:00; Links: Tall Corn - Lobisomem

02. Asura - “Manzanita” (Asura)
Start time: 5:12; Links: Non Projects - Asura

03. VOICEsVOICEs - “Origins [prod. by Prefuse 73]” (Origins)
Start time: 10:09; Links: Manimal Vinyl - VOICEsVOICEs

04. Take - “Horizontal Figuration” (Only Mountain)
Start time: 16:02; Links: Alpha Pup - Take

05. Polka Dot Dot Dot - “Nautilus Teef” (Syzygy)
Start time: 18:37; Links: Bicycle - Polka Dot Dot Dot

06. Bradley - “Lullaby” (MountainTigerWolf)
Start time: 23:22; Links: Drip Audio - Bradley

07. The Seven Fields of Aphelion - “Grown” (Periphery)
Start time: 28:51; Links: Graveface - The Seven Fields of Aphelion

08. Husky Rescue - “Grey Pastures, Still Waters” (Ship Of Light)
Start time: 34:25; Links: Catskills - Husky Rescue

09. Bill Dolan - “Let Motchingers” (Split 7” w/ JBe)
Start time: 38:06; Links: Sixgunlover - Bill Dolan

10. Yuuki Matthews - “Sloth Documentary” (Library Catalog Music Series: Music for Savage Tropical Imagery)
Start time: 39:36; Links: Asthmatic Kitty - Yuuki Matthews

[Artwork: Keith Kawaii]

Matthew Friedberger

“Shirley”

Thrill Jockey is releasing eight solo albums by The Fiery Furnaces’ Matthew Friedberger within one year, starting with Napoleonette on January 25 (TMT News). Well, shit, that’s a lot of solo albums. Perhaps Friedberger is releasing all of them so quickly because he already regrets signing an eight-album, multi-million-dollar deal with Thrill Jockey?

• Matthew Friedberger: http://www.myspace.com/matthewfriedberger
• Thrill Jockey: http://www.thrilljockey.com

Masta Killa

“Brain”

Masta Killa, Wu-Tang member, has announced a new album, titled Masta Killa Presents: Wu Tang: The Next Chapter. It’s due November 16. He’s on tour now with Inspectah Deck and will hit the road with the Wu in December.

• Masta Killa: http://www.myspace.com/mastakilla
• Nature Sounds: http://nature-sounds.net

Panda Bear

“Last Night at the Jetty” b/w “Drone”

Almost as exciting as new Radiohead tracks! More info on P. Bear’s new single here. Oh, and you can listen here. (via Stereogum)

• Panda Bear: http://www.myspace.com/pandabear
• Fat Cat: http://fat-cat.co.uk/fatcat

Thank You

“Birth Reunion”

Thank You’s Golden Worry is due January 25 via Thrill Jockey. You’re welcome!

• Thank You: http://www.myspace.com/wethankyou
• Thrill Jockey: http://www.thrilljockey.com

  

CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.