FKA twigs
“Water Me”

There’s so much going on in FKA twigs’ Arca-produced “Water Me.” That’s someone biting an apple there, I swear it. And the glitch-shit is really feeling the weight of these lyrics too. It’s officially already being whistled by me to the bathroom. But everyone everywhere is talking about this track, right? The FADER gives you all the buy-buy-marketing-buy. Pitchfork claims it. But all I’m saying is just enjoy the track. Nobody reads about music. They listen to “Water Me” by FKA twigs. So get that shit wrapped around your mind grapes.

EP2 is out September 9 on Young Turks.

• FKA twigs:
• Young Turks:

Plankton Wat / Expo '70

“Faded Postcards” b/w “Subtle Afterthoughts”

The Split: That Holy Thing, That Moment that would not have happened, would not have existed, had a label not realized that it could be That Holy Thing, or had the artists themselves not capitalized on such an opportunity and seized That Holy Thing by the scruff of its neck and droned the fuck out of it to pump out A Classic. It’s like a collaboration, but it’s really more than that. Two sides of a disc, separated by miles of geography and united by telepathic proximity. Yes, this is just a record, and yes these are two different people doing two different pieces of music, divided from one another — but that was before. “Split” describes a previous, past separation, but now, this is One. And so The Split, we realize, is actually not entirely split. It is The One. And perhaps it is better described as both — in terms of disparate styles, takes, approaches, and also as The Singularity, The Goal, The Ends that it most certainly is. This is The Split.

This example between Plankton Wat’s Dewey Mahood and Expo ‘70’s Justin Wright in particular plays into the paradoxical simultaneity of The Split better than others I’ve encountered of late. A glowing warmth / A frigid chill — environment. A crawl / A glide — movement. A collective ensemble / A solitary confinement — performance. “Faded Photographs” / “Subtle Afterthoughts” — an image. Mahood playing into an arranged band format with the lazy lope of drums and bass, long strides and deep breaths. It is a night drive, sadly serenaded by sharp electric guitar, trudging its way around a minor mode. Expo ‘70, Justin Wright, extending a drone out into the air like a limb or tree branch, a dead harmony discovering its life, softly breathing in and out, generating its own heat for survival against surrounding cold, as the bells of a clock tower chime the passing hours.

The two are brought together in sound and vision by Debacle Records’ Sam Melancon for what must be a wholly enveloping 12-inch experience, an experience that may be pre-ordered directly from the label as of today.

• Plankton Wat:
• Expo ‘70:
• Debacle Records:


“Somewhere Between”

I’m so happy for all of the noisiness permeating the otherwise approachable walls of beat music of all sorts. Some of the specific subgenres were only created because of this intrusion, but something like Yeezus? Where did that come from? And then there is this new Heartbeat(s) track, “Somewhere Between,” which slaps on every nondescript tag from “house” to “techno” to simply “bass” and yet has this strange, dark, and distorted center to it, which only rears its head when everything recognizable about the track drops. House tracks always make me picture where it would be played, from grimy basement clubs to rooftop dance parties, but this track falls somewhere between the two, maybe in the middle of the labyrinth of alleyways where no one can ever get to, but instead must settle for the reverberations of bass bouncing between the wet walls and the minimal vocals that are too clouded to comprehend by the time they climb their way up the alley walls and through the layers of low-hanging smog.

Heartbeat(s)’s Home Remedies is available now from 1080p and will hopefully show up again near the end of the year when everyone begins compiling their 2013 lists. Don’t miss it.

• Heartbeat(s):
• 1080p:

Jeremiah Jae

Bad Jokes

Slow roll from out his mouth and into your ears, Jeremiah Jae getting you high off them wooze-bob vibes. Too cute for experimentalism. Too much mind-muck to scoop out on the radio. Jeremiah Jae presents the appropriately named Bad Jokes. There’s some of that wet money roll. Blasted out woofer beats. Fuck you jazz flute. He’ll strangle you blue in the face with rhymes and “Nahh.”

Boi been poppin’ and hoppin’ since 2009, but went hard last year, with two guest vox and production works on Duality, a mixtape with Azizi Gibson, and debut album Raw Money Raps. It’s all that post-haze/-cloud rap stuff, so fair warning to haters. But he’s definitely your A.M. sobriety’s fix until 5:30 rolls about and you’re sitting in smoke. Enjoy Bad Jokes by Jeremiah Jae and ride the mind-lick.

• Jeremiah Jae:

Oneohtrix Point Never

“Problem Areas”

Oneohtrix Point Never has released the first full track from his forthcoming album, R Plus Seven. The song, titled “Problem Areas,” is described by Daniel Lopatin as “a linear world with cracks in its edifice,” one “with a veneer of being breakable, but that instead just bends and stretches endlessly like rubber, preventing you from ever understanding its true properties. The proverbial ‘endless vista,’ but with an end.” Wait a minute, I thought I was the music critic!

Check out the track below, and interact with a digital cube by artist Takeshi Murata at Oneohtrix Point Never’s official website.

R Plus Seven is out October 1 on Warp.

• Oneohtrix Point Never:
• Takeshi Murata:
• Warp:

Bob Bucko Jr


That shrieking saxophone over the six-armed drum rattle gets me thinking about Boredoms. Funny how you can build the entire bed of a song from anything. Vocal loops. Bass lines. Synthesizer buzz. Unrelenting drums. And then, at any point, you can just bring something in screaming over the top of it, and I start feeling like the first 20 minutes of A Space Odyssey. Is noise music just “tribal” expression with electronics? Because this makes me want to pound my chest and worship fire.

Listen to all of Bob Bucko Jr’s Tearjerker below, and buy the whole record over from Captcha Records.

• Bob Bucko Jr:
• Captcha Records:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.